Denver Robbery And Aggravated Robbery Attorney
Across Colorado, simple acts between former friends and lovers are being overcharged as robbery. Whether in Jefferson County or Arapahoe County, police charge this crime following allegations that one person took the property of another, following a struggle. This is not what Colorado lawmakers intended when they set the stiff penalties for this crime – classifying it as a class 4 felony, with up to six years in prison possible. Sometimes, even a simple shoplifting charge can develop into a robbery charge. What may have begun as stealing a $10 T-shirt from the mall can quickly become a Colorado felony robbery charge when the store clerk and the shoplifter each pull on the item.
Don’t worry, we are equipped with 25 years of experience to defend your robbery charge
Robbery Definition In Denver
“A person who knowingly takes anything of value from the person or presence of another by the use of force, threats or intimidation commits robbery.” C.R.S. 18-4-301. Simply struggling to gain control of a cell phone from your girlfriend is classified as robbery in Douglas County. Robbery is similar to a theft charge with the added element of force. Robbery is listed as a Class 4 felony with prison as a possible penalty.
Aggravated Robbery Definition
Small details can really make a difference in how people are charged. Robbery and aggravated robbery differ in one element. Aggravated robbery is a robbery committed with a deadly weapon present and with the intent, if resisted, to kill, maim or wound the person robbed or any other person. The “deadly weapon” can be hidden, held by a co-defendant or simply threatened. Aggravated robbery is considered an extraordinary risk crime that requires mandatory sentencing of prison time. Aggravated robbery is escalated to a Class 3 felony, C.R.S. 18-4-302. Any item can be classified as a dangerous weapon. Deadly weapon is defined under Colorado law as “A firearm, a knife, bludgeon, or any other weapon, device, instrument, material, or substance, whether animate or inanimate, that, in the manner it is used or intended to be used, is capable of producing death or serious bodily injury.” C.R.S. 18-1-901.
The Common Robbery Charge In Colorado
During intense moments, people say and do things they do not mean. The majority of our robbery cases in Adams County and Boulder County, are instances of theft or domestic violence that spiraled out of control. We often see charges against a defendant who is breaking up with a “significant other” and property is being taken in the separation. A struggle develops and the police are called as an act of revenge or control. There are many complications in determining the status of accusations of robbery, so your best course is to talk with the best robbery attorneys at our office.
If you or a loved one has been contacted by the police concerning a robbery charge, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact us immediately. At the O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC, we’ve successfully defended many people accused of robbery. Our cases have ended in our clients’ acquittal at a jury trial, lesser sentences than originally faced and case dismissal. So call us today at 303-731-0719 to set up a free initial consultation – you’ll be glad you did. Together, we can protect your future.