Assault In The First Degree – Denver
Denver And Adams County First Degree Assault Lawyer – The Most Serious Of All Assaults
First Degree Assault – C.R.S. 18-3-202 is the most serious non-sex assault crime in Denver and Adams County. Otherwise known as assault in the first degree, this offense is charged when a person commits a crime of violence or force against another person which results in serious injury.
First Degree Assault In Jefferson And Douglas County Definition
There are a couple of elements that must be present in order for a person to be convicted of First Degree Assault. Here is the definition:
The Intent Of The Crime
In order to be convicted of first-degree assault in Arapahoe, Douglas and Larimer County, the prosecution must prove the intent the act resulted in the serious injury of another person. The intent to cause injury, knowingly engaging in conduct which could present a grave danger to another person, or acting in extreme indifference to the value of human life must be present in order for a conviction of first-degree assault.
Serious Bodily Injury
“Serious bodily injury” is usually defined as serious damage to another person, including inuring with a strong risk of death, permanent disfigurement, serious burns, fractures, breaks, or the loss or impairment of a function of the body.
First Degree Assault Sentence In Aurora, Centennial And Littleton
First Degree Assault ranges sentences from a class 5 felony to a class 3 felony. If the crime occurred as a result of a “sudden heat of passion” in retaliation to the provocation of the alleged victim, it is a class 5 felony. Other occurrences of first-degree assault are a class 3 felony; a prison term can be difficult to avoid.
Class 5 Felony: 1 – 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
Class 3 Felony: 4 – 12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
Judges and prosecutors in Morgan, Weld and Grand County are often harsh with cases of first-degree assault if the victim of the crime was injured seriously.
First Degree Assault In Lakewood, Thornton And Brighton by Firearms, Guns And Deadly Weapons
The attempt to cause serious bodily injury to another person with the use of a deadly weapon often results in a First Degree Assault charge. Firearms are considered a deadly weapon according to Colorado statute, but a deadly weapon is not limited to a handgun or rifle. It includes a knife, explosive device, fighting sticks, brass knuckles, your own fists, or a “weapon” in the area, such as a broken beer bottle. If the intent of the attack is to cause serious bodily injury, in most cases, the first-degree assault will be charged.
Assault Attorney in El Paso County, Weld County And Fort Collins, Colorado – Experience Counts
First Degree Assault is a serious offense in El Paso, Colorado Springs, Weld and Fort Collins. A person convicted of this crime could be facing a prison sentence. Because of this, it is vital that you work with an experienced criminal defense lawyer for your case. The sooner your First Degree Assault charges are brought to the attention of one of our experienced lawyers, the better your chances at a positive outcome in your case. Often, we can reduce the sentence, work out an agreeable plea deal, or get the charges dropped completely by interviewing witnesses. We will work to build a strong defense in your case. We know that the prosecution is gathering evidence against you, and we work fast so no evidence is lost.
If accused of Assault in the First Degree, the most important things you can do are:1.Don’t speak with the police and 2. Contact an attorney at our office immediately.
- Learn more about Second Degree Assault
- Information about Third Degree Assault
If you or a loved one has been contacted by Denver, Littleton or Highlands Ranch police regarding First Degree Assault charges, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-731-0719, or submit the Get Help Now form. Together, we can protect your future.