Unlawful Sexual Contact in Broomfield, CO involves unwanted touching of someone’s intimate parts. This behavior can also be referred to as fondling or groping. While this is a less severe sex crime as compared to sexual assault, it does come with significant punishments. Potential time in jail, steep fines, and registering as a sex offender are all possible consequences of conviction in Broomfield. In order to protect your future in these situations, it is vital to contact a skilled unlawful sexual contact lawyer if allegations or charges have come about.
What is Unlawful Sexual Contact in Broomfield?
Unlawful Sexual Contact C.R.S. 18-3-404 describes the behaviors involved with this Colorado sex offense. Unlawful Sexual Contact occurs when a person:
- without consent, knowingly touches another person’s intimate parts,
- knowingly causes another person (also without consent) to touch their intimate parts,
- for sexual gratification, someone entices a minor under 18 to expose his or her intimate parts or engage in intercourse with another person
Sexual contact is the touching of another’s intimate parts or having them touch your intimate parts. Touching the clothing covering private parts is sexual contact as well if it is done for the purpose of sexual gratification, arousal, or abuse. In cases where unwanted intrusion or penetration occurs, a more severe charge of sexual assault can apply in Broomfield.
Punishment for Unlawful Sexual Contact in Broomfield
Unlawful sexual conduct in Colorado is usually a class 1 misdemeanor. This sex offense is also considered an extraordinary risk crime. Consequently, the maximum incarceration sentence can be increased by as much as 6 months as compared to other class 1 misdemeanors. Possible punishments are:
- 6 to 24 months in county jail
- a fine of $500 – $5,000
- sex offender registration
If a victim is pressured into sexual contact by force, intimidation, threat, or drugging, potential punishments increase. Now a felony offense, consequences can include 2 to 8 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and a fine of $2,000 to $500,000. The additional consequence of sex offender registration is entirely shaming for convicted individuals and those that are close to them. The public online registry includes a sex offender’s name, current address, date of birth, photo, physical description, crime information, and details of owned / operated vehicles.
Broomfield Unlawful Sexual Contact Attorney
The potential consequences of a sex crime conviction in Colorado are far too severe to face alone. An experienced criminal defense attorney that understands the intricacies of sex crimes can prove to be indispensable. Innocent men and women face unlawful sexual contact charges far too often because of misunderstood intentions. Touching might have been completely accidental or an alleged victim may be seeking nothing but revenge. Nevertheless, if law enforcement tries to contact you, avoid giving them any statements. Instead, call Broomfield’s best sex crime attorneys to represent you and fight for your future.
If you or someone you know has been charged with unlawful sexual contact, be smart. Contact the expert criminal defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pixabay – StockSnap