Unlawful sexual contact in Greeley and throughout Weld County is an offense that typically includes accusations of groping or fondling someone. If you’re accused of touching another person’s intimate parts without their consent, law enforcement may begin asking questions and getting as much information from the alleged victim as they can. With possible jail time, fines, and sex offender registration looming, an allegation of this nature requires precise decision making as a defendant. If you or someone you know is being accused of groping another person in Greeley, Windsor, or Fort Lupton, a call to Sawyer Legal Group can go a long way in protecting your future.
What Does Unlawful Sexual Contact Mean in Colorado?
Colorado’s unlawful sexual contact law prohibits acts of touching another’s private parts (exposed or clothed) without consent. CRS 18-3-404 defines unlawful sexual contact throughout Larimer, Morgan, and Weld County. Police will pursue charges if they believe you:
- knowingly touched another’s intimate parts without permission,
- or knowingly caused another to touch your intimate parts without their consent
Specifically, intimate parts refers to external genitalia, the perineum, anus, butt, pubes, and breasts. Should the situation move to unwanted intrusion or penetration, sexual assault applies.
A separate element of the unlawful sexual contact law prohibits enticing an underage person (17 or younger) to expose themselves or have sex with another for the observer’s sexual gratification.
Changes to Unlawful Sexual Contact Penalties
Beginning March 1st, 2022, Colorado’s misdemeanor reform bill will alter some of the penalties for an unlawful sexual contact conviction. While the crime is still a class 1 misdemeanor when force or threats are absent, the extraordinary risk label no longer applies. Defendant’s navigating these charges can face:
- up to 1 year in county jail,
- fines of up to $1,000,
- sex offender registration (10 years following completion of your sentence)
However, if your sexual contact case includes accusations of threats made, force or intimidation used, drugging, or use of a deadly weapon, a felony applies. This can lead to several years in the Colorado Department of Corrections, much higher fines, and a longer registration period.
Weld County’s Top Sex Crimes Lawyer
When it comes to representation in a sex case in Colorado, the defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group continue to achieve impressive case results. Whether you’re facing a misdemeanor or felony charge, an experienced criminal lawyer by your side can make a massive difference. Perhaps the alleged contact never occurred, it was an accident, or had nothing to do with sexual gratification. Nonetheless, contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation. We will carefully analyze the details of your case, answer your questions, and recommend next steps in your defense. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make securing a skilled attorney a reality for the accused throughout northern Colorado.
Don’t talk to the police about sex crime allegations. Talk to us. 303-731-0719
Photo by Polina Tankilevitch