Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351


September 2018 Archives

Understanding Colorado's Laws: What is Menacing?

menacing-denver-jpgDenver Menacing Laws

It's important to be aware of and to understand Denver, Colorado's laws, as breaking them can result in penalties such as a jail or prison sentence, fines, probation, parole, sex offender treatment, and counseling, depending on the crime. Our goal at O'Malley and Sawyer is to help you protect your future, whether before or after you have been charged with a criminal offense in Denver. Today's topic: Menacing, C.R.S. 18-3-206.

Denver Lawyer for Violation of Probation & Revocation Complaints


Probation Violation In Denver and Arapahoe County

If you are convicted of a criminal defense in Denver, Colorado, jail is not always the only option. Probation is sometimes sentenced in place of time spent in jail or prison (This can be confused with parole, which is similar but is considered a conditional release from time already spent in the Colorado Department of Corrections). Whether supervised or unsupervised, and with a strict set of rules, many people find it difficult to follow all restrictions set forth in the terms their probation in Arapahoe County.

What is Considered Criminal Mischief in Adams County?


Adams County Lawyer for Criminal Mischief

In Adams County, Colorado, Criminal Mischief (C.R.S. 18-4-501) is also referred to as the Property Damage or Vandalism statute. How much damage determines which class of crime will be charged. If there is less than $500.00 damage, it will be charged as a class 2 misdemeanor. However, if the damage is $20,000.00 or more, Criminal Mischief is charged as a much more serious class 3 felony. These are the extremes, and there are varying levels of charges in between. Because it can quickly become a serious felony, it is important to have your best defense possible put forward by an experienced lawyer.

How to Seal a Record in Denver, Colorado - Questions and Answers


What is Record Sealing in Arapahoe County?

In Arapahoe County, Record Sealing involves removing your criminal record from police and court databases. This can be crucial to getting your life back on track after a charge or conviction. An unsealed criminal record can prevent you from getting a job or housing when employers and landlords run background checks. Nosy neighbors will not be able to dig up your past, as your criminal records will no longer be available online to the public. After sealing your record you know you can be treated fairly for all future background checks and you can legally deny being charged with the sealed crime.



C.R.S. 18-3-208 - Reckless Endangerment in Adams County

Reckless Endangerment (C.R.S. 18-3-208) is a class 3 misdemeanor with serious consequences in Adams County. I once read a story where a Colorado man was convicted of Reckless Endangerment related to firearms use. The gun he was carrying discharged and the man shot himself in the groin. What made the story interesting was his defense. He said he was defending himself from a mugger that hit him on the back of his head, which caused the gun to discharge. One reason his story was questioned by law enforcement is that he was intoxicated at the time.

Harassment Charges in Adams County, Colorado


Adams County Colorado Lawyer for Harassment charges C.R.S. 18-9-111

Harassment charges in Adams County can happen to anyone at some point in their lives. A practicing criminal lawyer in Adams County Colorado should advise you that a person can be charged for striking, pushing, kicking, or even spitting at another person. Perhaps your loved one was alleged to have used some inappropriate language directed at another person in a public place. Or, maybe they are being charged with Harassment for repeatedly called another person after they were told to stop. Any of these scenarios could be potentially charged as Harassment by the Brighton Police Department.

Minor in Possession of Alcohol, Denver MIP Lawyer


Underage Drinking - Minor in Possession of Alcohol Laws in Denver, Colorado

With a new College semester having started up again, I wanted to ensure that young adults 18-21 years old, and juveniles who are under 18, are aware of the law concerning alcohol use. Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol by an Underage Person, aka Minor in Possession of Alcohol, aka MIP, C.R.S. 18-13-122, is a common charge when kids and young adults are drinking beer or wine or hard liquor. If a parent is present and gives permission for the child to drink, these laws will not apply. However, if underage drinking takes place at a house party near DU campus, both those drinking underage and those who provided the alcohol could be facing criminal charges on their record.

How Does Trespassing Turn into Burglary in Denver?


Denver Lawyer for Trespassing & Burglary

Wandering into a neighbor's house while drunk in Denver can turn into Burglary, which is much more serious than Trespassing. While both crimes are a felony, it can make a bad situation even worse when you are charged with Burglary. Here's how this can happen.

Possession of a Weapon by Previous Offender in Douglas County - Colorado Gun Rights Do Not Apply to Felons


Possession of a Weapon by Previous Offender in Douglas County - Understanding Colorado's Gun Rights

The US Constitution states that "The right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed", but in Colorado if you have committed a Felony such as burglary, arson, or first degree assault, you will no longer have the Second Amendment right to possess a weapon. It does not matter if your crime was violent or not, and it does not matter how long it has been since you were convicted or released from prison; Possession of a Weapon by Previous Offender is a serious charge in Douglas County.

Facing Charges? Get Help Now!


Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

This site uses Google's Invisible reCAPTCHA, which is subject to Google's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.