Charles W. Hamilton Group Photo of Perople at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC
Charles W. Hamilton Group Photo of Perople at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Unlawful Sexual Contact Attorney in Weld County | Groping or Fondling

by | Feb 17, 2023 | Unlawful Sexual Contact |

Hiring an unlawful sexual contact attorney is essential for those facing allegations of unwanted groping or fondling in Greeley, Evans, or Windsor. This sex offense often involves accusations of someone putting their hands somewhere they don’t belong. However, mixed signals and consent followed by regret can be the source of false allegations. These actions are not sexual assault, as that charge requires acts of intrusion or penetration. Anyone facing an allegation of unwanted touching of another’s intimate parts should consult an experienced sex crime lawyer as soon as possible.

Weld County Unlawful Sexual Contact Law

Weld County’s unlawful sexual contact law prohibits touching another’s private parts without consent. CRS 18-3-404 defines this sex offense in Colorado’s 64 counties. You commit unlawful sexual contact in Evans or Johnstown if you:

  • knowingly touch a person’s intimate parts without their consent,
  • or cause another person to touch your intimate parts without their consent

These intimate parts do not have to be exposed. Groping or fondling someone’s private parts over clothing applies as well. An unlawful sexual contact charge can also result from encouraging a juvenile to expose themselves or have sex with another person for your sexual gratification.

Will I Go to Jail for an Unlawful Sexual Contact Charge?

While some unlawful sexual contact cases are similar, they’re never the same. As a result, the penalties are often different. Sexual contact is at minimum a class 1 misdemeanor. Defendants in these cases face:

  • up to 12 months in county jail,
  • a maximum fine of $1,000,
  • sex offender registration

Unlawful sexual contact becomes a felony when certain aggravating factors are present. The use of threats, force, or intimidation or drugging a victim can result in up to 8 years in prison and much higher fines, in addition to the requirement to register as a sex offender. Defendants may also have to endure sex offender evaluation / treatment and sex offender intensive supervised probation after incarceration.

Greeley Sex Crime Attorney

The ramifications of an unlawful sexual contact conviction are severe in Colorado. Don’t go at this alone. Securing a strategic criminal defense attorney early on has many benefits and can significantly impact the outcome in your case. Perhaps the physical contact was an accident, there was consent, or the touching wasn’t for sexual gratification. That said, contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation. One of our skilled criminal lawyers will carefully analyze your unique sex case and suggest next steps in your defense. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for people facing sex crime allegations throughout Colorado.

Don’t talk to the police about unlawful sexual contact – talk to us. 303-731-0719

Photo by Hy Aan