Deregistration as a Sex Offender? Some Crimes are Lifetime
There are some crimes which require lifetime registration in Arapahoe County and Denver. Maybe that makes sense in limited circumstances. But, Colorado, has gone WAY overboard on this issue and even requires lifetime registration for misdemeanors. Yes, it is a crazy world when our legislature does what victim’s rights groups want and not what makes common sense. Colorado Sex Offender Deregistration normally.
Lifetime Sex Offender Crimes List in Jefferson County, Colorado
If you are convicted of the following crimes, you must register for the remainder of your life, without the possibility of deregistration:
· A Sexually Violent Predator
· Felony Sexual Assault under C.R.S. 18-3-402
· Misdemeanor Sexual Assault under C.R.S. 18-3-402
· Sexual Assault on a Child, C.R.S. 18-3-405 (which can simply involve touching a child on their bottom)
· Sexual Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust, C.R.S. 18-3-405.3 (which can simply involve touching a child on their undeveloped breast)
· Sexual Assault on a Client by a Psychotherapist, C.R.S. 18-3-405.5
· Incest, C.R.S. 18-6-301
· Aggravated Incest, C.R.S. 18-6-302 (even among married, adopted, consenting adults)
· Any adult who has more than one conviction or adjudication for unlawful sexual behavior (including more than one misdemeanor conviction)
Douglas County Lifetime Sex Offender Registration for Misdemeanor Unlawful Sexual Behavior
Many misdemeanor sex offenses are defined as “unlawful sexual behavior”. If you ever get two or more convictions for these – even for something like indecent exposure, you will never be able to deregister and must register as a sex offender for life. This includes convictions from when you were a juvenile (an adjudication). It also includes two offenses from the same case. No finding needed of a continuing danger to society, and no judge can change this requirement. Rules on Sex Offender Deregistration.
Deregistration as a Sex Offender in Adams County – Lawyer Says “Not Possible”
Our defense attorneys have one piece of advice: never plead guilty to a total of two sex offenses, or your will never be able to deregister. Something small from when you were a juvenile, or two cases while you were a juvenile, will require this lifetime registration. Imagine a 12 year old juvenile who gets a conviction for touching his sister when he is 12 years old, and then at 40 years old he gets an indecent exposure. He will never be able to stop registering.
Our sex offender registration and deregistration lawyers are concerned for your future. Call us at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Image Credit: Pixabay – stevepb