Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer
Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Hit and Run Attorney in Adams County

On Behalf of | Mar 18, 2024 | Hit and Run |


Hit and run charges in Adams County, Colorado can result when a motorist leaves the scene of an accident. Whether the damage was minimal or someone was seriously injured, Colorado drivers are required to remain at the site of the crash. Failing to do so in Thornton, Commerce City, or Brighton can lead to a wide range of criminal penalties. An accusation of leaving the scene of an accident requires consulting an experienced hit and run attorney as soon as possible.

Things to Know About Colorado’s Hit and Run Laws

It is essential that drivers in Adams County are aware of their duties after a car accident. These items are addressed in CRS 42-4-1601 through CRS 42-4-1606. While you can move your vehicle a short distance to avoid obstructing traffic, most other movement away from the crash site is unlawful. The only exceptions include:

  • leaving to report the accident to law enforcement,
  • hitting an unoccupied vehicle (still required to seek the owner or leave a note),
  • leaving to receive medical attention due to your own injuries

Even when drivers hit property or a car with no one in it, reporting the accident to police is a required step. Consequences for a hit and run in Thornton, Commerce City, or Brighton usually come down to the amount of damage done and the level of injuries.

Can You Go to Jail for a Hit and Run in Colorado?

Ramifications of conviction for leaving the scene of an accident depend on several different factors. Leaving the scene and not providing notice after hitting an unoccupied vehicle or damaging property is a class 2 traffic misdemeanor. Adams County drivers can face:

  • up to 90 days in county jail,
  • fines of $150 – $300

However, penalties increase when other people are involved. If someone experiences non-serious injuries, consequences can include up to a year in county jail and as much as $1,000 in fines. Furthermore, an accident involving serious injury coupled with fleeing the scene is a class 4 felony. This can mean years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and six-figure fines.

In addition to these criminal penalties, the DMV adds 12 points to your driving record if convicted of hit and run in Adams County. This can revoke your driver’s license, leading to many other complications.

Adams County Lawyer for Hit and Run Charges

A great deal of emotions run through a person’s head immediately after a car accident. Panic, frustration, and even anger may have got the best of you causing you to leave the scene. Fortunately, the skilled traffic attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC have decades of experience representing clients facing the same allegations.

Don’t let police findings and a hungry prosecutor force you into an unfavorable plea deal. Instead, contact our office for a free initial consultation. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing charges throughout Colorado.

Don’t talk to police about hit and run allegations – talk to us. 303-731-0719

Photo by Per Loov