Hate Crimes and Bias Motivated Crimes Lawyer in Denver Criminal Case
Bias Motivated Crimes, C.R.S. 18-9-121, are on the rise in Denver, Colorado. Crimes based on a person’s color, religion, national origin, disability, or sexual orientation, in Denver District Court, Denver County Court and Denver General Sessions result in a criminal case of Bias Motivated Crimes. If someone is being charged with Harassment, C.R.S. 18-9-111, and it appears the defendant was motivated out of hatred toward a person for his religion, the charge of Bias Motivated Crimes will be added. A recent example can be found in the Coloradoan, where a Fort Collins man is facing Criminal Mischief, C.R.S. 18-4-501, and Bias-motivated Crime – also known as Hate Crimes.
Hate Crimes and Bias Motivated Crimes – Cross Cultural in Arapaho County
Sometimes Bias-motivated Crimes and Hate Crimes are charged in a criminal case too often in Arapahoe County. Simply because a crime is committed across cultural lines does not mean a person has committed a Hate Crime. This is how lawmakers create problems when adding separate crimes for acts committed based on solely on the motive of the actor. Legislators love to create new laws in areas of political correctness, to be popular. Crimes like Criminal Mischief, Harassment, Vandalism and Assault, can be charged on their own, without adding the Hate Crimes label. Avoiding a Criminal Case.
What is the Sentence and Penalty for Bias-motivated Crimes in Adams County, Douglas County, or Jefferson County?
A criminal case based on a Bias-motivated or Hate Crime in Adams, Douglas or Jefferson County for putting someone in fear of or actual damage to their property or person, will result in charges of a class 1 misdemeanor in addition to the underlying crime of Harassment or Menacing. If the underlying charge is Assault with bodily injury, the crime of Bias-motivated Crime will then be charged as a class 4 or 5 felony. A class 1 misdemeanor is punishable by up to 18 months in Jefferson County Jail and a fine of up to $5,000.00. A class 5 felony is punishable by up to 3 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000.00. A class 4 felony can put a person in prison for up to 6 years with a fine of up to $500,000.00.
At the O’Malley Law Office, P.C. we know how to help you through the criminal case. So, Be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call us at 303-731-0719. Together we can protect your future.
Image Credit: Pixabay – Pexels