Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer
Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Sexual Assault Defense Attorney in Adams County

On Behalf of | May 1, 2024 | Sexual Assault |


Sexual assault offenses in Adams County, Colorado typically result from accusations of non-consensual sex acts. Whether the alleged victim claims force was used or they were intoxicated or unconscious, criminal penalties exist that can significantly impact your future.

Far too often, however, feelings of regret or guilt the morning after or days later put innocent people behind bars. Rather than this becoming your reality, consult an experienced sexual assault defense attorney right away if facing allegations or charges.

Sexual Assault Charges in Adams County

The crime of sexual assault is defined in CRS 18-3-402. You commit this offense in Thornton, Commerce City, or Brighton if you:

  • knowingly inflict an act of unwanted intrusion or penetration

This includes intercourse, oral sex, or penetration with a foreign object against someone’s will or without their consent. Additionally, these acts performed while someone is intoxicated, high, or physically helpless can also lead to charges.

The age of consent is a major factor in Colorado sex assault cases as well. While the age of consent is 17 in Colorado (unless the accused is considered a position of trust to the alleged victim), a few exceptions apply to younger teenagers. Someone 14 or younger can consent to another minor less than 4 years older in the state of Colorado. Additionally, teens age 15 or 16 are able to consent to those less than 10 years older.

Will You Go to Prison for Sexual Assault in Colorado?

Sexual assault is a class 4 felony in the state of Colorado when no force was used, no injury occurred, and there wasn’t any drugging of the victim. Conviction in these scenarios can lead to up to:

  • 8 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
  • fines of $2,000 – $500,000

However, if threats were made, physical force was applied, or the victim was drugged without their knowledge, a class 3 felony applies. 4 – 16 years in prison and fines of up to $750,000 can apply at sentencing.

Sex offender registration is an additional penalty of sexual assault conviction that can impact you for the remainder of your life. Publicly searchable, this registry lists a great deal of your personal information and some offense details. This can have humiliating ramifications regarding employment and housing and lead to a life of isolation.

Adams County Sexual Assault Defense Attorney

Consulting a strategic sexual assault defense attorney early on has many benefits. Vital evidence exists that needs to be preserved and carefully analyzed by an expert.

Perhaps no intrusion or penetration occurred, there was in fact consent, or the alleged victim is seeking revenge for something. Nonetheless, contact our office today to schedule a free initial consultation. Our skilled criminal lawyers will thoroughly look over your case and recommend next steps in your defense, all while prioritizing your best possible outcome.

Don’t talk to police about sexual assault allegations – talk to us. 303-731-0719

Photo by cottonbro