Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer
Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Sexual Assault on a Child Lawyer in El Paso County, CO

by | Jan 30, 2024 | Sexual Assault on a Child |


Sexual assault on a child is an offense in El Paso County, CO that involves sexual behavior between a child under the age of 15 and an actor 4 or more years older. Charges can result from either fondling a child or having a child fondle you.

The consequences of sexual assault on a child are especially harsh in Colorado Springs and can include indeterminate sentencing. If you’ve been accused or charged, consulting an experienced sexual assault on a child lawyer is paramount.

What is Sexual Assault on a Child in El Paso County, CO?

C.R.S. 18-3-405 defines the conduct of sexual assault on a child in Colorado. Someone commits this sex offense in Colorado Springs when they:

  • have sexual contact with a child 14 years or younger,
  • and are at least 4 years or more older than the child

The term sexual contact refers to the knowing touching of a child’s breast(s), buttocks, or genitals for the purpose of sexual gratification, arousal, or abuse.

Additionally, if at the time of the sexual contact the defendant was in a position of trust in respect to the minor, sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust applies. In these instances, the age factor goes up to anyone under 18 as well. A position of trust can mean any person responsible for a child’s health, education, welfare, or supervision.

Penalties for Sexual Assault on a Child in Colorado Springs

Punishments for sex crimes are harsh throughout the state of Colorado. Sexual assault on a child is usually a class 4 felony in Colorado Springs and throughout El Paso, Teller, and Elbert County. Conviction can result in:

  • 2 – 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
  • and fines of $2,000 – $500,000.

If force or threats are used to facilitate the sexual contact or a pattern of abuse applies, the offense can become a class 3 felony. Potential penalties include 4 – 12 years in prison and fines of $3,000 – $750,000.

In addition, convicted parties will be required to register as a sex offender, complete sex offender treatment, and follow the strict monitoring of sex offender intensive supervised probation.

El Paso County Sexual Assault on a Child Lawyer

Facing a charge of this severity may seem insurmountable. District attorneys can pursue severe punishments in these cases as a means of gaining credibility with their colleagues and improving the trajectory of their careers.

Hiring an expert criminal defense attorney is the best way to combat this and provides you with an advocate in the courtroom. Vital evidence and details exist in all cases that should be carefully analyzed by an expert defense lawyer.

Contact our office for a free consultation with a Colorado Springs sex crime attorney. They will hear your side of the situation and outline next steps to protecting your future.

Don’t talk to police about allegations of sexually assaulting a child in Colorado Springs – talk to us. 303-731-0719

Photo Credit: Pexels –