Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer
Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Prohibited Use of Weapons Lawyer in Douglas County

by | Aug 14, 2023 | Prohibited Use of Weapons |

Prohibited Use of Weapons is a crime in Douglas County, Colorado involving aiming a firearm at someone or throwing a weapon towards another person. Additionally, criminal charges can result from simply being in possession of a firearm after drinking alcohol. This is perhaps the most common situation in relation to prohibited use of weapons charges in Castle Rock and Parker. Accusations of misusing a gun or weapon are serious and require help from an experienced prohibited use of weapons lawyer.

Prohibited Use of Weapons Charge in Douglas County

C.R.S. 18-12-106 addresses prohibited use of weapons in the state of Colorado. Someone violates this law in Castle Rock, Parker, and Highlands Ranch if they:

  • knowingly and unlawfully aim a firearm at someone,
  • discharge a firearm recklessly or with criminal negligence,
  • possess a firearm while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance,
  • or aim, swing, or throw a throwing star or nunchaku at another person

While firearms and certain weapons are often used for self-defense, security, or sporting activities, the potential for their use (or even presence) to result in charges is very real. Accidents involving weapons aren’t uncommon and what appears to be a harmless activity can often be misinterpreted by law enforcement.

Penalties for Prohibited Use of Weapons in Colorado

When facing a first-time charge of prohibited use of weapons in Douglas County, a class 1 misdemeanor often applies. Potential consequences include up to 364 days in county jail and up to a $1,000 fine.

However, if within the last 5 years a defendant has been convicted of unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon, possessing a defaced firearm, or prohibited use of weapons, a class 5 felony can result. Consequences in these situations can range from 1 – 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and fines of up to $100,000.

Douglas County Prohibited Use of Weapons Lawyer

Firearms offenses in Douglas County aren’t uncommon and sometimes coincide with other crimes like assault, or the sentence enhancer domestic violence. We have decades of experience defending clients facing weapons-related charges and are prepared to defend your rights and freedoms as a gun owner.

Perhaps you didn’t have physical control of the weapon or your behavior didn’t include recklessness or criminal negligence. Nonetheless, Douglas County’s best criminal defense attorneys are ready to form a strong defense on your behalf. Contact our office for a free initial consultation where we will carefully analyze your unique case and suggest next steps.

Don’t talk to police about prohibited use of weapons – talk to us. 303-731-0719