Cruelty to Animals in Arapahoe County is an offense that includes many different actions in relation to animal abuse and neglect. This crime is taken seriously and allows for very little room within its definition. Often accidental injuries to animals occur, yet law enforcement doesn’t hesitate to charge cruelty to animals in many situations. A crime of this magnitude should be handled by an skilled cruelty to animals attorney by your side.
What is Cruelty to Animals in Arapahoe County?
C.R.S. 18-9-202 describes the offense of Cruelty to Animals in Colorado. It is unlawful to intentionally, knowingly, recklessly, or with criminal negligence do any of the following to an animal:
- overwork, overload, or overdrive
- deprive of necessary sustenance
- unnecessarily or cruelly beat
- house in such a way that results in serious physical harm
- carry or confine in / upon any vehicles in a cruel or reckless way
- fail to provide proper food, drink, or protection from weather
- abandon, mistreat, or neglect
Additionally, aggravated cruelty to animals in Colorado occurs whenever someone knowingly tortures, needlessly mutilates, or needlessly kills an animal.
Consequences of Cruelty to Animals in Arapahoe County
Cruelty to Animals in Englewood, CO is a class 1 misdemeanor for first time offenders. Conviciton can result in:
- up to 364 days in Arapahoe County Jail
- a fine of $500 – $1,000.
Part of a sentence may also include anger management or other type of treatment program. A second or subsequent offense of Cruelty to Animals results in a class 6 felony in Aurora, CO. Punishments here can include 12 – 18 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections and a fine of $1,000 – $100,000. The court may also order the defendant not to own pets for 3 – 5 years as well.
A first offense of aggravated cruelty to animals is also a class 6 felony in Centennial, CO with similar sentencing parameters. Finally, a second or subsequent offense of aggravated cruelty to animals is a class 5 felony in Greenwood Village, CO. Consequences can include 1 – 3 years in prison and a fine of $1,000 – $100,000.
Colorado Cruelty to Animals Attorney
Many different situations can lead to a Cruelty to Animals charge in Arapahoe County. Sometimes people leave a dog in a hot car, failing to recognize the temperature or lower a window. Other circumstances include neglecting to provide a pet with fresh water, leaving them in direct sunlight, or failing to provide them with medical care for an injury. Facing charges of animal cruelty requires representation from a skilled defense lawyer that can form a strong defense on your behalf. While we all love our pets dearly, accidents do in happen and shouldn’t leave you with a criminal history.
Don’t talk to police about cruelty to animals charges – talk to us. 303-731-0719.
Photo Credit: Pexels – Pranidchakan Boonrom