In Aurora, Centennial, and Englewood, intentionally stealing someone’s property can lead to theft charges. In any larceny case, the value of items taken determines a lot. When that figure falls between $300 – $1,999, a misdemeanor applies. There are several elements involved with theft based on CRS 18-4-401 that defendants should understand when forming a defense to their charges. If you or someone important to you has been accused of theft in Arapahoe, Douglas, or Elbert County, the time to talk to Sawyer Legal Group is now.
Theft Details in Arapahoe County
Colorado’s theft laws prohibit knowingly obtaining, retaining, or exercising control over another’s property without specific permission. CRS 18-4-401 defines the elements of theft in Aurora, Centennial, and Englewood. Police will pursue a theft charge if they believe alongside taking someone’s property you:
- intended to deprive the owner permanently of the use or benefit of the item(s),
- knowingly used, concealed, or abandoned the item to deprive the owner of its use or benefit,
- demanded any consideration in returning the property to the owner,
- or knowingly kept the property for 72+ hours beyond the agreed return time
Another tricky element to theft includes what my seem like simply taking or using a co-owned item for a given period of time. Permission from the other owner is essential to avoid this theft trap in Colorado.
How Bad is Theft in Aurora?
Each misdemeanor theft case is different. Consequences for a conviction won’t always look the same. Multiple thefts that occur within 6 months will often be totaled in value when it comes to sentencing ranges. When stolen property value falls between $300 and $999 a class 2 misdemeanor applies. This can lead to:
- up to 120 days in county jail,
- fines of up to $750,
If the stolen property value reaches $1,000 but remains under $2,000, a class 1 misdemeanor is charged. A conviction in these scenarios can include:
- up to 364 days in county jail,
- fines of up to $1K,
Felony theft in Aurora is charged under the following circumstances:
- value reaches or exceeds $2K,
- you’re accused of pick-pocketing someone,
- or the victim is 70+ or a disabled person
Aurora’s Top Theft Defense Attorney
When it comes to crafting a strong defense to theft charges in Arapahoe County or Aurora Municipal Court, Sawyer Legal Group is the law firm you want in your corner. Our criminal lawyers have decades of combined experience and are prepared to fight for your best possible outcome. Whether that is a favorable plea, a dismissal, or taking a theft case to trial, strategic defense is crucial. Contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation and see our expertise in action.
Don’t talk to police about theft charges – talk to us. 303-731-0719
Photo by KoolShooters