Photo of Attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC
Photo of Attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Possession of a Loaded Firearm in a Vehicle | CRS 33-6-125

by | Aug 29, 2022 | Firearms |

Driving your car, SUV, or truck with a loaded long gun is unlawful throughout the state of Colorado. Whether you’ve been accused of carrying a loaded rifle or shotgun in Douglas, Jefferson, or Larimer County, contacting a firearm lawyer right away is wise. While it isn’t unlawful to drive with a loaded handgun such as a revolver or pistol, Colorado’s laws draw the line at loaded rifles or shotguns in vehicles throughout the state. Below we discuss loaded firearms in vehicles in further detail and how our strategic criminal lawyers can help those facing these types of charges.

What is Possession of a Loaded Firearm in a Vehicle?

The title of this law itself can be misleading. It is legal to possess a loaded handgun in a vehicle in Colorado. However, CRS 33-6-125 makes it unlawful to possess a loaded rifle or shotgun:

“It is unlawful for any person, except a person authorized by law or by the division, to possess or have under his control any firearm, other than a pistol or revolver, in or on any motor vehicle unless the chamber of such firearm is unloaded.”

CRS 33-6-125

Additionally, driving with a loaded or unloaded firearm Colorado law designates as a dangerous weapon is a felony offense in Denver, Aurora, and Lakewood. This includes firearms such as a short shotgun, short rifle, firearm silencer, and machine guns.

How Serious is Possession of a Loaded Firearm in a Vehicle in Colorado?

Each driving with a loaded gun case is unique. Consequences may be different in each situation. It is important to note that police officers do in fact have the authority to inspect the chamber of any rifle or shotgun in your vehicle. While this particular misdemeanor doesn’t carry any county jail time, defendants face:

  • a fine of $50,
  • 15 license suspension points

The points associated with this crime puts drivers over the point limit for the year, thus resulting in a driver’s license suspension of 6 – 12 months.

Denver Attorney for Possession of a Loaded Firearm

If you or someone you know has been accused of possessing a loaded gun while driving, Sawyer Legal Group is here to help. Colorado is an open carry state as long as you’re permitted to possess guns under state / federal law. Where some run into trouble is the specific type of firearm and where it’s being carried. Our strategic gun lawyers have decades of combined experience successfully representing clients accused of firearm crimes throughout Denver, Arapahoe, Jefferson, Douglas, and El Paso County.

Contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation. We will carefully analyze your case, answer your questions, and outline next steps in your defense.

Don’t talk to police about loaded firearms in your vehicle – talk to us. 303-731-0719

Photo by Alex Andrews