2nd degree assault in Weld County, Colorado is a crime that involves purposefully hurting another in a way that causes injury. This includes injuries that are non-serious and won’t lead to disfigurement or lasting damage. Still, this intentional violence is often charged as a felony in Weld, Larimer, and Boulder County. Assault in the second-degree sometimes involves use of a deadly weapon or causing a police officer pain in some way as well. If you’re being accused of second-degree assault in Greeley, Fort Collins, or Boulder, contact an experienced criminal lawyer right away.
Weld County 2nd Degree Assault Law
Weld County’s 2nd degree assault law prohibits acts of intentionally injuring others. CRS 18-3-203 provides the specific details of this felony offense throughout Colorado. You can be charged with second-degree assault in Greeley, Windsor, or Fort Lupton if you:
- intentionally cause injury with a deadly weapon or recklessly cause serious injury with a deadly weapon,
- purposefully hurt another by suffocating / strangling them or causing a physical or mental impairment,
- or use physical force against police, EMTs, firefighters, prison workers, or court employees
This casts an especially wide net over actions that could lead to 2nd degree assault allegations. Furthermore, should the above take place against your current or former spouse / significant other, a domestic violence enhancement can apply.
2nd Degree Assault Penalties in Weld County
Each assault in Colorado is different. As a result, penalties aren’t the same in every situation. In general, 2nd degree assault is a class 4 felony, possibly resulting in:
- prison time of 2 – 6 years,
- a minimum fine of $2,000
These parameters can decrease if specific elements apply. For instance, a heat of passion defense could impact the penalties if the alleged victim did something particularly provoking and there wasn’t sufficient time for you to calm down. The lasting impacts of a felony assault conviction also include prohibited gun ownership and often decrease employment opportunities.
Weld County’s Best Assault Lawyer
Hiring Weld County’s best assault lawyer is essential when facing accusations of this nature. Time is of the essence and the sooner you secure skilled representation, the better. We have decades of combined experience navigating assault charges throughout Weld, Larimer, and Adams County and are prepared for your unique case. Perhaps you were acting in self-defense, defense of another, or there was a lack of intent to cause injury. Nevertheless, contact our law office today for a free, confidential consultation. We will carefully analyze your unique situation and recommend next steps in your defense. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make strategic representation a reality in uncertain times.
Don’t talk to the police about assault allegations – talk to us. O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC 303-731-0719
Photo by Dan Burton