Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer
Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Lakewood Hit and Run Lawyer | Leaving the Scene

On Behalf of | Aug 16, 2020 | Hit and Run |

Leaving the scene of an accident in Lakewood, Colorado can result in stiff criminal penalties. Collisions with unoccupied vehicles, property, and other drivers are common throughout Jefferson County. Failing to complete each necessary step after an accident can be costly. Penalties jump substantially when someone is seriously injured. A revoked driver’s license is common as well when it comes to hit and run cases. It is wise for anyone facing allegations of leaving the scene of an accident in Jefferson County to consult a Lakewood hit and run lawyer as soon as possible.

Jefferson County Hit and Run Law

Jefferson County’s hit and run law prohibits driving away from accidents where you collide with property, another vehicle, or a person. CRS 42-4-1601 defines the specific violations when injury to another occurs. You commit hit and run involving injury in Lakewood, Arvada, or Golden if you:

  • are directly involved in an accident,
  • resulting in injury, serious bodily injury, or death,
  • AND fail to immediately stop your vehicle and remain at the scene

Sometimes exceptions are made for those who leave the scene to lawfully report the accident or are injured to an extent that they themselves need medical attention. Leaving the scene of accidents that only involve damage or vehicles with no one in them also result in criminal penalties, though not as severe as those where injury occurs.

Colorado Penalties for Hit and Run Resulting in Injury

Consequences for hit and run resulting in injury range from a class 1 misdemeanor to a class 4 felony. In situations where the injuries are non-serious (cuts, scratches, bruises, etc.), a class 1 traffic misdemeanor applies. A conviction can result in up to 12 months in county jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. However, hit-and-run involving serious bodily injury is a class 4 felony. Defendants face up to 6 years in prison and fines of $2,000 – $500,000. Finally, fleeing the scene of an accident that involves death is a class 3 felony. This can result in over a decade in the Colorado Department of Corrections and even higher fines.

Lakewood’s Top Traffic Crime Attorney

Just because you’ve been charged with leaving the scene of accident doesn’t mean you’re guilty. Car crashes are traumatic experiences, often leaving drivers confused and alarmed. Perhaps you weren’t aware of the collision, you left the scene to get medical help, or you didn’t know injury or damage occurred. That said, contact our office for a free consultation. Lakewood’s top traffic crime attorney will carefully look over your case, as well as suggest next steps in your defense. We offer same-day jail visits, competitive fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing hit and run charges throughout Colorado.

If you or someone you know is being accused of leaving the scene of an accident in Jefferson County, be smart. Contact the strategic defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-731-0719. Don’t talk to the police – talk to us.