Photo of Attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC
Photo of Attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Domestic Violence Harassment Attorney in Boulder | CRS 18-9-111

by | Aug 20, 2020 | Harassment |

Domestic violence harassment is a charge in Boulder County, Colorado that results from purposefully agonizing a spouse, ex, or significant other. There are many different behaviors that can result in a DV harassment charge ranging from obscene language in public to continuous electronic communication. When a harassment charge includes a domestic violence enhancement, a protection order immediately complicates the situation. Don’t try to navigate a DV harassment charge on your own. Consult an experienced domestic violence harassment attorney to start a strong defense.

Boulder County DV Harassment Law

Boulder County’s harassment law prohibits actions that are meant to harass, annoy, or alarm another. When these actions are taken against a current or former romantic partner, a domestic violence enhancement applies. You commit this offense in Boulder, Longmont, or Louisville if you:

  • intending to harass, annoy, or alarm a current or former significant other,
  • strike, shove, kick, or touch them,
  • use obscene language towards them in public, over the phone, or online,
  • follow them in public,
  • threaten property damage or bodily injury by phone or online,
  • repeatedly contact them via phone, text, or social media,
  • taunt them provoking a violent response

Current and former intimate relationships apply to DV enhancements. Relationships that are platonic with friends, co-workers, and roommates do not.

Can You Go to Jail for Domestic Violence Harassment in Boulder?

DV harassment ranges from a petty offense up to a class 1 misdemeanor throughout the state of Colorado. Defendants face up to 6 months in county jail and a maximum fine of $750 for conviction. In some situations, a probation sentence is more appropriate. However, it isn’t uncommon for judges to require successful completion of a DV treatment program or lengthen the restraining order.

If the harassment is due to the victim’s race, color, or religion, the crime increases to a class 1 misdemeanor. A conviction can lead to a year in county jail and up to $1,000 in fines.

Boulder Domestic Violence Defense

Anyone facing domestic violence alongside a criminal charge should seek strategic representation. There is a lot on the line in these cases and a skilled defense attorney by your side can make a big difference. Perhaps what occurred wasn’t harassment, there wasn’t intent to annoy or alarm anyone, or the alleged victim is making a false accusation. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free consultation. One of our determined domestic violence attorneys will carefully look over your unique case, as well as suggest next steps in your defense. Our competitive fees and flexible payment plans make hiring an experienced lawyer possible for those facing allegations.

If you or someone you know is facing a DV harassment charge in Boulder County, be smart. Contact the highly-rated defense lawyers at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-731-0719. Don’t talk to the police – talk to us.