Sexual assault on a child in Aurora, Colorado is a serious crime involving touching minors inappropriately. Groping or fondling someone’s private parts who is under the age of 15 carries major penalties if the defendant is 4 or more years older than the alleged victim. Regardless of consent, the older person in these situations faces years in prison, costly fines, and sex offender registration. If these behaviors go beyond touching and result in intercourse, statutory rape charges can follow. Consult an Aurora sexual assault on a child attorney immediately if you’re facing allegations of fondling a child in Colorado.
Aurora Child Sex Assault Law
Aurora’s sexual assault on a child law prohibits sexual contact with young teens and children. CRS 18-3-405 addresses the specific elements of this offense. You commit sexual assault on a child in Arapahoe County if you:
- knowingly touch the breast(s), buttocks, or genital area,
- of a child 14 or younger (and are 4 or more years older),
- for the purpose of sexual arousal, gratification, or abuse
This applies if you touch the child’s intimate parts, they touch yours, or if you touch the clothing covering their private parts. Often this contact occurs on more than one occassion. In these cases, a pattern of abuse applies which can increase the criminal penalties and results in no statute of limitations. An adult can be charged for alleged sexual abuse in Colorado dating back decades.
Will You Go to Prison for Sexual Assault on a Child in Colorado?
Each SAOC case is different. Therefore, the consequences for conviction are as well. This offense is at minimum a class 4 felony, potentially resulting in:
- 2 – 6 years in DOC,
- a minimum fine of $2,000
- intensive supervision post-incarceration,
- evaluation / treatment,
- sex offender registration
However, when the sexual contact occurs more than once or threats / violence are used, the offense becomes a class 3 felony. Defendants face 8 years to life in prison if a deadly weapon was involved or the child suffers serious bodily injury.
Sexual Assault on a Child Lawyer in Arapahoe County
Securing experienced representation is critical when facing an accusation of child sex assault in Colorado. The penalties are harsh and sometimes lifelong, increasing the need for a strategic defense attorney. Perhaps the child is confused or lying, the touching didn’t include private parts, or it was purely accidental. That said, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. We will carefully analyze your child sex assault case and suggest next steps in your defense. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those face sexual assault charges throughout the state of Colorado.
If you or someone you know is being accused of sexual assault on a child, be smart. Contact the skilled sex crimes lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Tim Gouw