Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Denver Perjury Attorney | Lying Under Oath

| May 31, 2020 | Perjury |

denver-perjury-attorney-omalley-and-sawyer-llc.jpg

I

t is important that Coloradans not make false statements in official proceedings while they’re under oath. Ranging from a petty offense to a class 4 felony, perjury carries heavy penalties in Denver. Fabricated testimony and failing to tell the truth can lead to a complicated legal situation, even if it occurs in proceedings outside the courtroom. There are three specific types of perjury that can occur in Colorado that we’ll discuss below. Consulting a Denver perjury attorney is wise if facing an allegation of lying under oath in Colorado.

Denver Perjury Laws

Denver’s perjury laws prohibit false statements while under oath. 1st degree perjury occurs in Denver if someone:

  • knowingly makes a materially false statement,
  • they don’t believe to be true,
  • in an official proceeding

This applies to information provided during testimony or in any government document. Witnesses, victims, and defendants can all be held accountable for not telling the truth in these situations. 2nd degree perjury applies if a person:

  • knowingly makes a materially false statement,
  • they don’t believe to be true,
  • intending to mislead a public servant

This charge can also follow if someone signs a government document with fabricated or embellished information. The least severe type of perjury in Colorado is false swearing and covers violations outside of first or second-degree perjury where someone makes other false statements that aren’t true.

Colorado Perjury Penalties

Each perjury case is different in Colorado. Therefore, the consequences of conviction are as well. False swearing is a class 1 petty offense that could lead to a few months in county jail and a maximum fine of $500. However, second-degree perjury is a class 1 misdemeanor, potentially resulting in:

  • 6 – 18 months in county jail,
  • fines of up to $5,000

In the most severe perjury cases, a class 4 felony applies. Defendants are potentially faced with:

  • 2 – 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
  • fines of $2,000 – $500,000

Why You Need a Denver Perjury Attorney

Lying under oath or providing false statements during testimony can result in impactful criminal penalties. The best defense is to equip yourself with an experienced defense attorney capable of fighting for your future. Perhaps you quickly corrected the lie, the evidence is thin at best, or there was a simple misunderstanding. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free initial consultation. We will carefully look over your perjury case and recommend next steps, all while prioritizing your best possible outcome.

If you or someone you know is facing a perjury charges in Colorado, the time to act is now. Contact the strategic criminal lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo by Bill Oxford