Prohibited use of weapons charges can result from interactions where someone aims their firearm at another or recklessly discharges their weapon. When these events occur in Adams County, police are quick to get involved. Just last week, a man was arrested for prohibited use of weapons and other charges after allegedly firing his handgun following an argument about picking up dog poop. Allegations regarding improper use of a gun require contacting an experienced firearms attorney as soon as possible.
Colorado’s Prohibited Use of Weapons Law
CRS 18-12-106 defines the circumstances of prohibited use of weapons in Thornton, Brighton, and Commerce City. Some scenarios where a person commits this offense in Adams County include:
- knowingly and unlawfully aiming a firearm at a person,
- shooting a weapon recklessly or with criminal negligence,
- leaving a loaded gun unattended without a capable person present,
- possessing a firearm while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
This creates for many situations where a person can face criminal charges if they lose their cool. However, even a fun evening with friends and family can result in a drunk with a gun accusation. When arguments or escalated confrontations occur as well, additional charges such as menacing, reckless endangerment, or harassment can be added.
Is Prohibited Use of Weapons a Misdemeanor in Adams County?
Committing prohibited use of weapons for the first time is a class 2 misdemeanor throughout Colorado. Conviction can result in:
- up to 1 year in county jail,
- fines of $250 – $1,000
However, if within 5 years there are convictions of other firearms offenses such as unlawful carry or prohibited use, penalties can amplify. With heightened attention on carrying and using a firearm in our day and age, consulting a skilled defense attorney passionate about firearms rights is essential.
Adams County Firearms Lawyer
A prohibited use of weapons charge can seem overwhelming and confusing, especially when you feel as though you did nothing wrong. Your next step is crucial in your defense. Don’t panic. Instead, contact our office for a free initial consultation. Perhaps you didn’t know the weapon was loaded, you didn’t have physical control of the gun, or you discharged the firearm at an authorized place and time. Our highly skilled criminal defense attorneys offer affordable fees and flexible payment plans for those facing accusations throughout Colorado.
If you or someone you know has been charged with prohibited use of weapons in Colorado, be smart. Contact the top defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Helena Lopez