Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Sexual Assault on a Child Attorney | Corrections Officer Arrested

| Jan 6, 2020 | Sexual Assault on a Child |

sexual-assault-on-a-child-omalley-and-sawyer-llc.jpg

Sexual assault on a child is a major offense in Arapahoe County that involves groping or fondling someone under the age of 15. Consent is irrelevant in these cases when the actor is 4 or more years older than the young teen. Earlier this month, a Colorado corrections officer was arrested after allegations of sexual assault on a 14-year-old. With potential lifelong penalties for conviction, consulting an experienced sexual assault on a child attorney is vital for anyone facing accusations or charges.

Sexual Assault on a Child Law in Arapahoe County

C.R.S. 18-3-405 defines the specific violations of Colorado’s sexual assault on a child law. You commit this sex crime in Aurora, Littleton, or Centennial if you:

  • knowingly touch the breast(s), butt, or genital area of a child 14 or younger,
  • or cause the child to touch your intimate parts,
  • for the purpose of sexual arousal, gratification, or abuse

It is important to note that groping or fondling clothed intimate parts is also a form of child sex assault, as the law doesn’t state that the body parts have to be exposed.

Unfortunately, SAOC cases often lack substantial evidence and are based on verbal claims of sexual abuse. While there are cases that involve a certain level of culpability, others reek of lies and false accusations and can put innocent men and women in prison.

What are the Penalties for Sexual Assault on a Child in Colorado?

There are several severe punishments for sexual assault on a child conviction in Arapahoe County. As a class 4 felony, penalties can include:

  • 2 – 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
  • a minimum fine of $2,000

However, if the sexual contact involves force, threats, or happens more than once (pattern of abuse), a class 3 felony applies. Consequences in these cases can be:

  • 4 – 12 years in prison,
  • fines of up to $750,000

Additionally, a child sexual assault conviction in Colorado will result in the requirement to register as a sex offender, follow the strict guidelines of sex offender intensive supervised probation, and complete treatment overseen by Colorado’s sex offender management board.

Arapahoe County Sexual Assault Defense Attorney

Whether facing accusations of sexual assault on a child in Englewood, Centennial, or Aurora, finding the best criminal defense attorney is paramount. Look no further than the results-driven sex crime lawyers at O’Malley & Sawyer, LLC. We have decades of experience successfully representing clients facing sex assault accusations throughout Colorado and our results stand alone.

When facing an allegation of sexual assault on a child, we recommend the following key steps:

  1. Exercise your right to remain silent with police and investigators,
  2. Don’t talk about your case with others or via text, email, or social media,
  3. Contact Colorado’s best sex crimes attorneys for a free initial consultation

If you or someone you know is facing sexual assault on a child charges, be smart. Contact the strategic defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo by Michael Parzuchowski