Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Fatal Injury of Colorado Springs Burglar

burglar-denver-lawyer-attorney.jpg

Burglar Shot in El Paso County

Last Saturday night, an intruder attempted to enter a home in El Paso County. Unfortunately for him, the homeowners had a gun and used it in self-defense. The would-be burglar was shot and continued to put up a fight, even after the Colorado Springs Police Officers arrived, forcing them to use a Taser. The suspect was taken to a hospital, and eventually died from his injuries. While the case is considered an active homicide investigation, chances are the couple will not face charges, being protected by Colorado's "Make My Day" law.

Read the full story - KKTV 11 NEWS 

What is the Adams County, Colorado Make My Day Law?

In Douglas County, Adams County, and throughout Colorado, you are legally allowed to use deadly physical force against an intruder under the following circumstances:

  • "(1) The general assembly hereby recognizes that the citizens of Colorado have a right to expect absolute safety within their own homes.
  • (2) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 18-1-704, any occupant of a dwelling is justified in using any degree of physical force, including deadly physical force, against another person when that other person has made an unlawful entry into the dwelling, and when the occupant has a reasonable belief that such other person has committed a crime in the dwelling in addition to the uninvited entry, or is committing or intends to commit a crime against a person or property in addition to the uninvited entry, and when the occupant reasonably believes that such other person might use any physical force, no matter how slight, against any occupant.
  • (3) Any occupant of a dwelling using physical force, including deadly physical force, in accordance with the provisions of subsection (2) of this section shall be immune from criminal prosecution for the use of such force.
  • (4) Any occupant of a dwelling using physical force, including deadly physical force, in accordance with the provisions of subsection (2) of this section shall be immune from any civil liability for injuries or death resulting from the use of such force.
  • (5) As used in this section, unless the context otherwise requires, "dwelling" does not include any place of habitation in a detention facility, as defined in section 18-8-211 (4)." (C.R.S. 18-1-704.5)

Who is Considered a Burglar in Jefferson County?

In Jefferson County, there are 3 different classifications of Burglary. "A person commits second degree burglary, if the person knowingly breaks an entrance into, enters unlawfully in, or remains unlawfully after a lawful or unlawful entry in a building or occupied structure with intent to commit therein a crime against another person or property" (C.R.S. 18-4-203). Second degree burglary is a class 4 felony, which means if convicted, you will be facing 2-6 years in prison, and a fine between $2,000 - $500,000.

Read about the 3 classifications of Burglary in Colorado

Lawyer for Burglary Charges in Arapahoe County

If you are facing charges for First, Second, or Third Degree Burglary in Arapahoe County, be smart. Exercise your right to remain silent and contact an experienced Burglary lawyer at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

This site uses Google's Invisible reCAPTCHA, which is subject to Google's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.