Adams County Charges of Domestic Violence
In Adams County cities like Thornton and Commerce City, Domestic Violence is a common “add-on” crime. It is never charged by itself, rather it is considered a sentence enhancer, adding additional penalties to other Colorado crimes such as Harassment, Assault, Menacing, and Stalking. Its broad definition makes it easy to be charged with Domestic Violence, and Adams County Sheriffs, Judges, and district attorneys will assume your guilt and side with the “victim.”
Definition of Domestic Violence in Jefferson County
The definition of Domestic Violence in Jefferson County is found in C.R.S. 18-6-800.3:
“Domestic violence” means an act or threatened act of violence upon a person with whom the actor is or has been involved in an intimate relationship. “Domestic violence” also includes any other crime against a person, or against property, including an animal, or any municipal ordinance violation against a person, or against property, including an animal, when used as a method of coercion, control, punishment, intimidation, or revenge directed against a person with whom the actor is or has been involved in an intimate relationship.
“Intimate relationship” means a relationship between spouses, former spouses, past or present unmarried couples, or persons who are both the parents of the same child regardless of whether the persons have been married or have lived together at any time.
As this definition includes any other crime against a person, property, or animal, you can see how easy it is to be charged with Domestic Violence.
Penalty for Repeat Domestic Violence Convictions in Denver, Colorado
While DV is usually a misdemeanor criminal offense, if you are charged with a fourth offense that includes domestic violence, you will be charged with a class 5 felony in Denver, Colorado. C.R.S. 18-6-801 states that “Any misdemeanor offense that includes an act of domestic violence is a class 5 felony if the defendant at the time of sentencing has been previously convicted of three or more prior offenses that included an act of domestic violence and that were separately brought and tried and arising out of separate criminal episodes.” A class 5 felony could mean 1-3 years in prison and a fine between $1,000 – $100,000.
Other penalties for a DV conviction include the completion of a “treatment program and a treatment evaluation that conform with the standards adopted by the domestic violence offender management board.”
Lawyer for Domestic Violence Charges in Arapahoe County
If you are contacted by police regarding Domestic Violence charges in Arapahoe County, be smart. Politely exercise your right to remain silent and contact the experienced Domestic Violence lawyer at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Read about 5 Crazy Domestic Violence Rules.