Disorderly Conduct in Denver County – Putting the Strip into Strip Mall
Disorderly Conduct was charged against a 22 year old Pennsylvania woman for stripping down to nothing but her stockings, in a strip mall. A photographer with her was also charged. Associated Press news article. In Denver, police will charge people with Disorderly Conduct when they don’t know what else to charge. This works, because the statute is written so broadly – it applies in almost any situation found by law enforcement. There are four broad categories in the definition of Disorderly Conduct in Denver, Colorado. Under C.R.S. 18-9-106, these include: making an offensive utterance or gesture, fighting, discharging a firearm in a public place, and displaying a firearm or deadly weapon in order to cause alarm. If the Strip Mall Stripper were to do the same thing on the 16th Street Mall, Disorderly Conduct might also apply.
Sentence and Penalty for Disorderly Conduct in Douglas County and Jefferson County, Colorado
The maximum penalty for Disorderly Conduct depends on which class of crime it is filed under. On the high end it can be up to $5,000.00 and 18 months in the Jefferson or Douglas County Jail for a class 1 misdemeanor. If it is charged as a class 1 petty offence in Thornton or Lakewood Municipal Court, the maximum penalty is $500.00 and 6 months in jail. It is unlikely for a first time offender to see the upper limits of these penalties, but sometimes the after effects of any conviction can be worse that the sentence itself. So, if you or someone you care about is facing Disorderly Conduct charges, they should seek our experienced legal counsel. Disorderly Conduct Examples in Colorado.
Falsely Accused of Disorderly Conduct in Adams County?
If you are Falsely Accused of Disorderly Conduct in Adams County, maintain your composure. Over reaction will most likely lead to more charges. Some Brighton Police officers are more concerned with making themselves look good, that serving the public. They look for a reason to use excessive force. It is not unusual for good people to end up with bruises when police say someone resisted an arrest. Be polite, answer questions about your identity, but don’t make statements or offer excuses to a Brighton police officer.
Finally, and as soon as possible, contact the best criminal defense attorneys at 303-731-0719. Together we can protect your future.