Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Jefferson County, Colorado Obstruction of Telephone Service Lawyer

| Mar 6, 2018 | Obstruction of Telephone |

obstructing-telephone-call.jpg

Obstructing a Telephone Call or Service in Denver County Courts

If you hinder or interfere with someone making a phone call, you can be charged with a misdemeanor crime called Obstruction of Telephone Service. Colorado lawmakers are worried that the person you prevent from making a call could be calling Denver Police about you. But, it does not need to be an attempt to call Police. Let’s look at the definition of Obstruction of Telephone Service in Colorado.

Texting and Obstruction of Telephone or Telegraph Service in Adams County

Texting is included under the law of Obstruction of Telephone Service. This means that if you prevent a friend from texting an embarrassing photo of you to friends, you have just committed a class 1 misdemeanor and can be arrested and placed in jail. This is crazy, but once again Colorado lawmakers have written a law poorly. Why not have a provision that says someone must be seeking help in the phone call or text? Remember, Colorado and are schools are creating drama queens who thrive on calling police. They feels a sense of status to become a “victim, and district attorneys play right along. Examples of Obstruction of Telephone Service in Colorado.

Douglas County Definition of Obstruction of Telephone Services

Located at C.R.S. 18-9-306.5(1), the definition of Obstruction of Telephone Services is met when a person:

“Knowingly prevents, obstructs, or delays, by any means whatsoever, the sending, transmission, conveyance, or delivery in this state of any message, communication, or report by or through any telegraph or telephone line, wire, cable, or other facility or any cordless, wireless, electronic, mechanical, or other device.”

Sentence for Obstruction of Telephone Services in Arapahoe County, Colorado

The penalty for committing Obstruction of Telephone Service can result in up to 18 months of jail and a fine from $500-$5,000. Of course, probation is possible as well. If you commit this crime against someone you’ve been in an intimate relationship with, district attorneys will charge the case as a Domestic Violence offense, and you can end up losing your right right possess a firearm again.

Colorado’s Obstruction of Telephone Service law is poorly written and you are at risk. Never hang out with drama queens or people who have a need for drama, or you could end up making a cop’s day with your arrest. Call our criminal defense attorneys at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.