Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Probation Revocation and Probation Officers in Denver and Jefferson County

| Jan 9, 2018 | Probation |

Probation-Revocation-lawyer.jpg

Jefferson County and Denver Probation Officers & Revocation

While you are on Probation in Denver and Jefferson County, Colorado, you will be under the supervision and monitoring of a Probation Officer, or “PO”. This supervision is an extension of the court, and imposes conditions of Probation which are helpful in your rehabilitation and to ensure you commit no new crimes. You only get to a PO after pleading guilty to a crime of some kind, whether misdemeanor or felony. A PO can file for revocation and send you to jail in Golden or excuse minor violations of Probation, so keep them happy.

Length of Probation in Arapahoe County, Colorado

The length of probation in Aurora and Littleton will vary depending on whether you’ve been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor. Typically, there is a limit of 5 years for misdemeanor probation, and no limit for a felony. If you have a felony sex offense, there is a minimum of 10 years, 20 years, or lifetime, depending on the class of felony conviction. The length of your maximum probation is not related to possible time in the Arapahoe County Jail or prison. They vary with the facts of your case and the need for more or less supervision time.

Probation Violation and Probation Revocation Hearing in Adams County, Colorado

When a PO has had enough of you, they will look for violations of Probation and file a Revocation Complaint, or Petition for Revocation of Probation. How well you get along with your PO will determine whether they file for revocation. In Adams County, Brighton and Thornton, we’ve seen these officers overlook treatment issues, missed appointment, or failures to pay costs and fines. They are extra patient if they like you and less patient if you are disrespectful to them. Information on Probation Violations and Revocation.

What Happens if Probation is Revoked? | Consequences of Probation Revocation in Douglas County

After a hearing, a Douglas County judge will decide whether to revoke your probation for any violation. If they do revoke, here are possible consequences:

-Regranted / reinstated probation

-Sentenced to the Adams County Jail

-Sentenced to Prison

-Have your case terminated unsuccessfully

Probation is considered a privilege in Castle Rock and Highlands Ranch, and if you don’t take it seriously, you will face a revocation hearing. Don’t learn too late that the court and the Probation Officer were serious about you following the conditions of your Probation – they will not hesitate to send you to jail or DOC. Call our Probation revocation lawyers at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.