Domestic Violence and False Imprisonment Attorney in Adams County, Colorado
When men and women fight, many cases of Domestic Violence and False Imprisonment arise. This crime can be classified as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on whether force is involved, and the length of time someone is held against their will.
The Arapahoe County, Colorado law definition of False Imprisonment, C.R.S. 18-3-303
False Imprisonment in Aurora, Centennial and Arapahoe County, is defined as:
“Any person who knowingly confines or detains another without the other’s consent and without proper legal authority commits false imprisonment.”
False Imprisonment is considered a class 2 misdemeanor in most cases, and carries a possible 3 – 12 months in the Arapahoe County Jail. When force or a threat of force are involved, and the victim is held for more than 12 hours, it becomes a class 5 felony with possible prison time.
Jefferson County and Douglas County, Colorado Example of False Imprisonment
Imagine a couple who have been arguing and drinking, and the man wants to leave the house to go stay someone else for the night. When he tries to leave, the woman blocks the front door and won’t allow him to leave. Neighbors call the police over the noise in the apartment next door, and when they arrive, the man tells officers from the Douglas County Sheriff that he was prevented from leaving. The woman can be charged with Jefferson County False Imprisonment, with Domestic Violence. While there was no actual violence, since the woman was blocking the door as a means of control over the man, she can be charged with False Imprisonment.
Police and deputy district attorneys can ruin your life with a conviction for False Imprisonment. Never help them by answering their questions about this crime or any crime. Instead, keep quiet and call the criminal defense lawyers at our law firm. Together, we can protect your future.