Child Abuse is Easy to Allege in Denver
Everyone should understand just how easy it is to be accused of Child Abuse. You don’t need to injury your child or purposely cause them harm. From accidents to negligent conduct, grieving parents are often charged with Child Abuse. Let’s study this problem further in the blog below.
Examples of Child Abuse from Accidents in Adams and Jefferson County – A Lawyer’s Experience
Two years ago, we defended a woman who slid on ice and her daughter was injured. She was charged with Felony Child Abuse. A male client was recently charged with abuse for pushing his 13 year old son out of the way (no injuries) while he was trying to take a disobedience dog out of the house to the backyard. In another case, a woman was changed when her 5 year old boy unbuckled his car seat, opened the door and fell out of the car before the mother could stop the car. Prosecutors showed no mercy. Still another mother was injured when gasoline she threw on an ant-hill blew up and burned her child. Finally, a good mother was given a summons for misdemeanor child abuse for leaving her sleeping child in a locked car while she ran into Target to buy some diapers. All of these examples resulted in charges of child abuse which could cause the mother or father a ton of problems. The families were devastated – they loved their kids and would never purposefully hurt their precious child. Read more on Child Abuse in Colorado.
How is Child Abuse Charged in Arapahoe County and Douglas County?
Located at C.R.S. 18-6-401, Child Abuse is charged in Arapahoe County cities of Glendale, Sheridan, Deer Trail, and Bennett, whenever a person “causes an injury to a child’s life or health, or permits a child to be unreasonably placed in a situation that poses a threat of injury to the child’s life or health, or engages in a continued pattern of conduct that results in malnourishment, lack of proper medical care, cruel punishment, mistreatment, or an accumulation of injuries that ultimately results in the death of a child or serious bodily injury to a child.” This definition is so broad what most any injury or potential injury to a boy or girl is covered. Parents can be charged with a class 4 felony, when a person “acts with criminal negligence and the child abuse results in serious bodily injury to the child.” How sad that Colorado lawmakers fail to realize that accidental conduct sometimes injures a child. Why compound and already sad situation where people are grieving.
Department of Human Services and a Trails Listing
On top of a criminal record, the Department of Human Services keeps a large database of people who have been found responsible (in their opinion and without a trial) for an act of child abuse or endangerment. Called Trails, this database is consulted for employment screening at schools, the Department of Education, the nursing board, churches, and child care agencies. A listing here will prevent you from helping out with your daughter’s school or parenting your son’s Boy Scout Troop. We can help ensure that your Child Abuse charge does not end up with your name permanently on this database.
Why You Need an Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney
When you are accused of Child Abuse across Colorado, you musts contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at once. Any delay can result in the spoilage of evidence and increase the chances you will be convicted. District Attorneys in Elbert County or Douglas County feel as if they have a noble cause when a child is injured or killed in an accident. Criminal charges only lead to more stress, guilt and anxiety. Defending yourself once you have been charged with Child Abuse is essential – protect your future. Don’t stand alone in the courtroom when an experienced lawyer cites the law and criminal procedure rules against you. Contact a criminal defense attorney who will fight hard for your future.
Our law firm has handled hundreds of Child Abuse cases across Colorado. Come in for a free consultation and learn about your case. Never speak to the police, but instead call us at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Image Credit: Pixabay – MadalinIonut