O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Lawyer for Prohibited Use of Weapons in Denver, C.R.S. 18-12-106

Prohibited Use of Weapons is a crime in Douglas, Denver and Arapahoe County. If facing charges, you should know what Prohibited Use of Weapons means and what it does not mean. This charge can be filed against you for being drunk with a gun, pointing a gun at another person, recklessly discharging a gun or bow and arrow, setting a trap, or using some specific martial arts style weapons in a public place. These are all of the criminal acts according to the Colorado State Statute C.R.S. 18-12-106.

Alcohol with Guns is Most Frequently Charged

Most commonly, people are charged with Prohibited Use of a Weapon in Jefferson, El Paso, and Adams County when they possess a firearm while being under the influence of alcohol. Does it matter whether you are cleaning the gun or whether it is unloaded? Not according to the statute. Does it matter whether you are in your home or in a public place when you possess a pistol with your concealed carry permit? Not to the police. I have had cases where my client is charged with Prohibited Use of Weapons when they have a gun in their car and are arrested for a DUI, C.R.S. 42-4-1301, in Aurora, Littleton, and Castle Rock.

Prohibited Use of Weapons covers all the potential crimes listed above. The government has gone so far to limit your use of a weapon while under the influence of alcohol that they will charge you with violating the law even if you are using the gun in self-defense. While the case law on the use of a weapon while you are under the influence of alcohol is not favorable, there is certainly an argument that one can always defend themselves. Thus, if you are charged, you will need to find a criminal defense attorney who practices gun rights law.

Potential Punishments for Prohibited Use of Weapons Charge

Prohibited Use of Weapons in Boulder, Gilpin, and Broomfield County is a class 2 misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a $1,000.00 fine. But, the consequences for a second offense under this section increase to a class 5 felony.

Prohibited Use of Weapons is a severe crime that requires the aid of a serious criminal defense lawyer. The attorneys at the O'Malley Law Office will fight to preserve your ability to own and use guns and combat the government's push to take away your 2nd Amendment rights. So, if you or a loved one have been charged with Prohibited Use of Weapons, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent and call us today at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.