Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Colorado Tightens Retail Theft Laws: C.R.S. 18-4-417

| Jun 12, 2012 | Theft |

Devner Organized Retail Theft Lawyer

A new Colorado law is targeting an increase in what authorities call “organized retail theft” by enacting amendments to Colorado’s Theft Detection Devices (C.R.S. 18-4-417) and False Reporting (C.R.S. 18-8-111) statutes. The new laws, now enacted in all Colorado jurisdictions including Denver, Adams, and Arapahoe County, will make the penalties harsher for triggering false alarms at retail stores in order to cause a diversion for the commission of Theft, or for tampering with any theft detection devices used by Colorado retailers.

Jefferson County Shoplifting Theft – Retail Theft Conspiracies

Many law enforcement agencies in Douglas, Jefferson, and Boulder County have long been treating incidences of retail theft as isolated occurrences of shoplifting. However, it is the hope of lawmakers that these new laws will aid police in digging deeper into retail theft conspiracies in cases that may only involve a single incident at first glance. Retail stealing / shoplifting results in $35 billion lost profits annually nationwide.

Theft Sentence in Doulgas County

When a person is accused of theft (C.R.S. 18-4-401) in Colorado, the charge they face depends on the value of the item allegedly taken. Theft of something valued less than $1000 is a misdemeanor crime, taking something valued between $1000 and $19,999 is a class 4 felony, and stealing something valued $20,000 or more is a class 3 felony.

Flase Reporting During a Theft

The amendment to the False Reporting statute (C.R.S. 18-8-111) increases the penalty for false reporting committed during a theft, changing the crime from a class 3 to a class 2 misdemeanor. Likewise, the Theft Detection Device statute (C.R.S. 18-4-417) was broadened to include more sophisticated technologies such as foil lined shopping bags, which prevent store alarms from being triggered during a shoplifting incident. Violation of this law in Colorado is a class 1 misdemeanor.

If you have been accused of Theft, False Reporting, or Unlawful Use of a Theft Detection Device in Denver, Aurora, Golden, or any other Colorado jurisdiction, the penalties you are facing can be very serious, especially if you are facing multiple charges for the same incident. The Colorado government is trying to be tough on these crimes right now, so don’t let them try to make an example out of you. At the O’Malley Law Office, we will fight to protect you from false allegations and over-zealous prosecutors. We are experienced Colorado criminal defense attorneys who care about you, your criminal record, and your future. So, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call us immediately at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.