Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer
Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Drug Possession Attorney in Arapahoe County

On Behalf of | Jun 17, 2024 | Drug Offense |


Drug possession offenses in Arapahoe County involve someone having controlled substances without an up-to-date prescription from a doctor. Unlawful possession of a controlled substance can be a serious crime throughout Colorado and may include harsh penalties for conviction. Whether the drugs are on your person, stashed in your car’s glove box, or in your basement for a friend, law enforcement won’t hesitate to manufacture charges if they feel they have probable cause.

Any accusations or charges surrounding unlawful possession requires representation from a skilled drug possession attorney as soon as possible.

3 Things to Know About Unlawful Drug Possession in Colorado

Because controlled substances are drugs regulated by the government, laws apply to possessing them. C.R.S. 18-18-403.5 defines unlawful possession of a controlled substance in Aurora, Centennial, and Englewood. A person commits this drug crime in Arapahoe County if they:

  • knowingly have actual, constructive, or joint possession,
  • of a controlled substance,
  • without a current and valid doctor’s prescription

The type of drug is a defining element when it comes to the severity of the criminal charge. Being in possession of medications with small amounts of codeine or opium, prescription sleep aids, or anabolic steroids is a misdemeanor in Colorado as these are schedule V, IV, and III substances.

Charges amplify to a felony when the drugs are within the schedule II and I range and the amount is greater than 4 grams. This includes highly addictive and dangerous substances such as methamphetamine, cocaine, fentanyl, oxycontin, vicodin, morphine, ecstasy, LSD, and heroin.

How Long Can You Go to Jail for Drug Possession in Arapahoe County?

When a drug offense involves possession of a schedule V, IV, or III controlled substance, a level 1 drug misdemeanor applies. Potential penalties of conviction include:

  • 6 – 18 months in county jail,
  • and / or up to $5,000 in fines

In some cases, a strategic drug possession attorney can work to mitigate the consequences to a probation sentence, community corrections, or work release.

In cases where the controlled substance is a schedule II or I drug and present in an amount greater than 4 grams, a level 4 drug felony often applies. This can result in:

  • 6 – 12 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
  • and / or $1,000 – $100,000 in fines,
  • 1 year of parole

Arapahoe County Drug Possession Attorney

Drug possession charges in Aurora, Centennial, and Englewood shouldn’t be handled without a skilled defense attorney by your side. Contacting an experienced criminal lawyer early on can prove invaluable in the end. We have over 40 years of combined experience defending clients facing drug possession charges in Colorado and our results speak for themselves.

Perhaps you didn’t know you had the substances, they didn’t belong to you, or you’ve been falsely accused by someone seeking revenge. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free initial consultation. We will carefully analyze your drug possession case and suggest next steps in forming a strong defense on your behalf.

Don’t talk to police about drug possession allegations – talk to us. 303-731-0719

Photo by Matthew T Rader