Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer
Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Vehicular Assault Lawyer in Jefferson County | CRS 18-3-205

by | Jan 4, 2024 | Vehicular Assault |


Vehicular assault is a crime in Jefferson County, Colorado that typically involves driving recklessly and causing serious bodily injury. These charges also often result when someone drives under the influence and injures another. The vehicular assault law contains complexities and carries serious ramifications, heightening the need for experienced criminal defense when facing accusations or charges.

What is Colorado’s Vehicular Assault Law?

CRS 18-3-205 defines the specific details of Colorado’s vehicular assault law. You commit this offense in Golden, Arvada, or Lakewood if you:

  • drive recklessly or under the influence of alcohol / drugs,
  • AND your driving is the proximate cause of another’s serious bodily injury

It is important to note that driving recklessly refers to operating a motor vehicle in a manner that shows purposeful disregard for significant risk. Intentionally running stop signs in your sedan and colliding with a cyclist could very well result in vehicular assault charges.

Additionally, if alcohol or drug consumption inhibits sufficient physical control or due care in some way, a traffic accident can result in a felony for the person behind the wheel.

Sentencing for Vehicular Assault in Jefferson County

When alcohol or drugs aren’t involved and reckless driving results in serious bodily injury to another, a class 5 felony applies. Sentencing parameters include:

  • 1 – 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
  • fines of $1,000 – $100,000

In many cases a skilled vehicular assault lawyer can aid in reducing these penalties for those with clean driving records and criminal history. However, when DUI is a factor in a vehicular assault case, a class 4 felony applies. Potential penalties in these scenarios can be:

  • 2 – 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
  • fines of $2,000 – $500,000

Jefferson County Vehicular Assault Lawyer

Whether facing vehicular assault charges in Littleton, Lakewood, or Golden, consulting a strategic criminal defense attorney early on is crucial. Vital evidence exists in these cases, requiring expert analysis from a skilled lawyer.

Perhaps you weren’t driving recklessly, the results of your chemical test weren’t accurate, or the alleged victim isn’t seriously injured. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free initial consultation. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing allegations throughout Colorado.

Don’t talk to police about vehicular assault charges – talk to us. 303-731-0719

Photo by Matt Chesin