Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer
Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Second-Degree Assault Charges in Arapahoe County

On Behalf of | Dec 22, 2023 | Assault |

Second-degree assault charges in Arapahoe County involve someone intentionally hurting another person. This particular level of assault includes non-serious injuries. Sometimes, a deadly weapon is involved as well. Depending on the injuries that result, many physical altercations can lead to charges of 2nd degree assault. With potential penalties of time in prison and thousands of dollars in fines, finding an experienced criminal lawyer is essential for those facing assault allegations in Colorado.

Arapahoe County Second-Degree Assault Law

Arapahoe County’s second-degree assault law prohibits many actions that lead to injury. C.R.S. 18-3-203 defines these violations throughout Colorado. A person commits assault in the second degree in Aurora, Centennial, or Englewood if they:

  • purposefully injure another person with a deadly weapon,
  • recklessly cause serious injury via a deadly weapon,
  • use physical force against a first responder, detention facility employee, or court employee,
  • cause someone to suffer a physical or mental impairment,
  • injure a police officer, firefighter, or EMT,
  • or cause injury by suffocation or strangulation

It is important to note that 2nd degree assault includes those injuries that aren’t life-threatening and don’t cause disfigurement. Deadly weapons in Colorado include items such as firearms, knives, or anything that can cause serious bodily injury or death.

Penalties for 2nd Degree Assault in Arapahoe County

A conviction of second-degree assault in Arapahoe County carries a wide range of possible penalties including:

  • 1 – 12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
  • a minimum fine of $2,000

Sentences vary depending on specific facts of each unique assault case. The presence of a deadly weapon and severity of injury are large determining factors.

A felony assault conviction will also eliminate your second amendment rights and can significantly hinder a person’s ability to find and maintain a stable job. Additionally, if the case includes a domestic violence enhancement, protection orders further complicate the situation.

Arapahoe County Assault Defense Attorney

Contacting an experienced lawyer early on is perhaps one of the most important elements when allegations exist. The earlier you consult a criminal lawyer, the better.

Perhaps you were acting in self-defense or there was a lack of intent. Nevertheless, don’t talk with police or provide statements about the situation. Instead, contact a skilled assault defense attorney for a free initial consultation. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing assault accusations in Colorado.

Don’t talk to police about 2nd degree assault accusations – talk to us. 303-731-0719

Photo by Rosemary Ketchum on Pexels