Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer
Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Careless Driving Lawyer in Adams County

by | Nov 20, 2023 | Careless Driving |


Careless driving is a traffic offense in Adams County, Colorado that involves operating a vehicle with disregard for the road and surroundings. Less severe than reckless driving, careless driving includes a certain level of negligence and a lack of awareness when operating a vehicle.

Steering the wheel with your elbows while putting on makeup or speeding in a residential area during a snowstorm could be considered careless driving in Thornton and Commerce City. Consulting an experienced careless driving lawyer is best when facing a traffic offense of this nature.

Careless Driving Details in Colorado

C.R.S. 42-4-1402 defines the specific details of careless driving in the state of Colorado. Someone commits this traffic offense in Thornton, Brighton, or Commerce City if they:

  • drive a car, bicycle, electric bike, or low-power scooter,
  • in a careless and imprudent manner,
  • without regard for the width, grade, curves, corners, traffic, use of the streets / highways, and all other attendant circumstances

A lack of attention to your surroundings can result in a careless driving charge. This also applies to operation of scooters and e-bikes. As more and more people seek these alternative modes of transportation in metropolitan areas, instances of carelessly operating them have increased.

It is important to note careless driving doesn’t exclusively apply to public streets and highways either. Driving a car carelessly on private property can also lead to a criminal charge.

Is Careless Driving a Misdemeanor in Adams County?

One of the largest determining factors of penalties for careless driving is whether or not anyone was injured. In cases where no one was hurt as a result of careless driving, a class 2 traffic misdemeanor applies. Possible ramifications include:

  • up to 90 days in county jail,
  • a maximum fine of  $300

However, when someone is injured or dies due to careless driving actions, a class 1 traffic misdemeanor can apply. Potential penalties can be:

  • up to 1 year in county jail,
  • as much as $1,000 in fines

Careless driving in a motor vehicle can also lead to 4 points on your driving record, community service, and restitution amounts owed to those injured.

Adams County Careless Driving Lawyer

Careless driving charges can amplify quickly when someone is injured. Therefore, consulting a skilled careless driving lawyer early on is essential.

We have decades of experience successfully defending clients facing traffic crimes and are prepared to form a strong defense on your behalf. Perhaps you weren’t driving carelessly, someone else was driving your car, or your driving didn’t cause the other person’s injuries. Nevertheless, contact our office today for a free initial consultation. We will carefully go over your careless driving case with you and suggest next steps.

Don’t talk to police about careless driving allegations – talk to us. 303-731-0719

Photo by Andraz Lazic on Unsplash