Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer
Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Possession of Handguns by Juveniles Lawyer in Aurora

by | Aug 29, 2023 | Juvenile |

Possession of handguns by juveniles is charged in Aurora when someone under the age of 18 unlawfully has a handgun on his or her person. While there are exceptions surrounding things like shooting ranges, hunting, and safety courses, it is important that parents and teenagers be aware of behaviors that could lead to a criminal charge. If your teenage son or daughter has been accused of breaking Colorado gun laws, representation from an experienced possession of handguns by juveniles lawyer is vital in forming a strong defense on their behalf.

When Can a Minor Legally Possess a Handgun in Colorado?

C.R.S. 18-12-108.5 defines the scenarios where possession of a handgun by a juvenile is legal. With permission from a parent / legal guardian, someone under 18 years of age can possess a handgun when they are:

  • attending a hunter’s / firearms safety course,
  • practicing at a shooting range where discharging firearms is legal,
  • participating in an organized competition,
  • hunting or trapping in accordance with a valid license,
  • traveling to or from any of these activities with an unloaded handgun,
  • on their parent’s / legal guardian’s property with permission to possess

Any juvenile handgun possession outside of these parameters can be met with a criminal charge. The consequences can be especially impactful on a minor’s life and significantly amplify beyond a first-time offense.

Is Possession of Handguns by Juveniles a Felony in Aurora?

As a first-time offense, no. Possession of handguns by juveniles is a class 2 misdemeanor and can result in time in a juvenile detention center and a fine.

However, if a minor under the age of 18 commits another offense of handgun possession beyond the initial conviction, a class 5 felony applies. Penalties vary depending on whether the young person involved is or will be 18 at the time of sentencing. If they are 18, punishment can include up to 24 months in county jail or a community correctional facility. A great deal of the consequences associated with possession of handguns by juveniles is at the discretion of the judge. Therefore, having an experienced defense attorney by your child’s side can prove invaluable.

Aurora Juvenile Possession of a Handgun Attorney | Colorado Firearm Lawyer

Juvenile handgun charges can lead to unforgiving consequences that may negatively impact families. Perhaps the young man or woman didn’t know they had a handgun in their possession or their actions fit within the exceptions described above. Nevertheless, consulting a compassionate defense attorney with experience defending clients in these types of cases is paramount.

With ramifications of community supervision or time in a juvenile correctional facility lurking, you need a friend in the fight. Contact our office to schedule a free consultation where we will carefully analyze your unique situation and outline next steps.

Don’t talk to police about juvenile handgun possession – talk to us. 303-731-0719

Photo by Karolina Grabowska