Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer
Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Mandatory Reporting Lawyer in Douglas County

by | Apr 10, 2023 | Lawyer |

A mandatory reporter in Douglas County, Colorado is a professional who is required by law to report any occurrences of child abuse or neglect. This includes instances of physical, sexual, or mental / emotional abuse. Those professionals who work with children are often considered to fit into this category. They are also responsible as a position of trust.

At the onset of any suspected child abuse, it is the duty of a mandatory reporter to immediately report their findings to necessary personnel. Typically, a training of some sort surrounding mandatory reporting is a condition of employment for someone in this role. However, that is not always the case, leaving gaps in the chain of command when it comes to reporting abuse. If you’re facing a charge surrounding mandatory reporting, contacting a criminal defense lawyer is of the utmost importance.

Am I a Mandatory Reporter in Castle Rock?

The law in Douglas County clearly states those who serve in the role as a mandatory reporter and must report child abuse / neglect under C.R.S. 19-3-304.

  • Physician or Surgeon;
  • Child Health Associate;
  • Medical Examiner or Coroner;
  • Dentist;
  • Osteopath;
  • Optometrist;
  • Chiropractor;
  • Podiatrist;
  • Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse;
  • Hospital Personnel engaged in the admission, care, or treatment of  patients;
  • Christian Science Practitioner;
  • Public or Private School Official or Employee;
  • Social Worker or worker in any facility or agency that is licensed or  certified;
  • Mental Health Professional;
  • Dental Hygienist;
  • Psychologist;
  • Physical Therapist;
  • Veterinarian;
  • Peace Officer;
  • Pharmacist;
  • Commercial Film and Photographic Print Processor;
  • Firefighter;
  • Victim’s Advocate;
  • Licensed Professional Counselors;
  • Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists;
  • Registered Psychotherapists;
  • Clergy Member.

Consequences for Failing to Report Child Abuse in Douglas County

The criminal charge for failing to report child abuse / neglect as a mandatory reporter is a class 2 misdemeanor in Parker, Colorado, with a possibility of:

  • up to 120 days in county jail,
  • a maximum fine of $750

Because of the responsibility that comes with being a mandatory reporter, a slippery slope exists when it comes to someone’s reputation and failing to report. The media has grown accustomed to linking any instances of a delay in reporting to the same severity of the crime itself. An administrator of a school where a teacher sexually abuses a student can face the same backlash and isolation as the offender. This can make it horribly difficult to find employment in your field, be seen in public, or enjoy privacy in your community.

Don’t talk to police about failure to report child abuse – talk to us. 303-731-0719

Photo Credit: Pixabay – mohamed_hassan