A criminal charge of contributing to the delinquency of a minor can follow when someone is accused of helping or encouraging a juvenile to take unlawful actions in Boulder, Longmont, or Superior. Even aiding them in defying court orders can lead to law enforcement’s involvement in the situation. While sometimes thought of as helping kids break the law, contributing to the delinquency of a minor has specific elements to it that can get many adults in significant trouble. If you or someone you know is being accused of this illegal activity in regards to a minor, contact a top criminal defense attorney early on to protect your future.
What Does Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor Mean in Colorado?
Boulder County’s contributing to the delinquency of a minor law prohibits adults from aiding juveniles in breaking the law or disregarding court orders. CRS 18-6-701 defines contributing to the delinquency of a minor throughout northern Colorado. Police will look to charge if they believe you:
- induced, aided, or encouraged,
- someone 17 or younger,
- to violate any state or federal law, municipal or county ordinance, or court order
We’ve seen cases like these involving parents supplying teens alcohol or controlled substances for parties, giving them access to weapons, and others where a neighbor thinks the kids next door are up to no good.
Changes to Penalties for Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor
Beginning March 1st, 2022, contributing to the delinquency of a minor can be charged as either second or first degree. Aiding a juvenile in violating a municipal or county ordinance, court order, or state or federal law that isn’t a felony victims rights act crime is now 2nd degree contributing to the delinquency of a minor. This is a class 1 misdemeanor that can lead to:
- up to 12 months in county jail,
- a max fine of $1K
However, encouraging a child to violate a state law that is a felony victims rights act crime becomes 1st degree contributing to the delinquency of a minor. This class 4 felony can lead to:
- 2 – 6 years in prison,
- fines of $2K – $500K
Defendants employed by school districts (teachers, administrators, staff) run the risk of losing their professional licenses and their jobs in these cases.
Boulder’s Top Criminal Defense Attorneys
If accused of contributing to the delinquency in Boulder, Longmont, or Louisville, it is important to exercise your right to remain silent and consult a top criminal lawyer right away. Entertaining law enforcement’s questions often leads to a far worse outcome. Perhaps you never encouraged any criminal behavior, the minor was 18+, or the juvenile acted on their own. Nonetheless, contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation. Our experienced defense attorneys are available to talk with you about your case, answer your questions, and outline next steps. We offer same day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing charges in Boulder, Larimer, and Weld County.
Don’t talk to police about contributing to the delinquency of a minor charges – talk to us. 303-731-0719
Photo by Aedrian