Aiming a weapon at someone or recklessly firing a gun can lead to a prohibited use of weapons charge in Fort Collins, Loveland, or Estes Park. With the heightened sensitivity around firearms in today’s society, law enforcement is unfortunately quick to pursue charges after even an allegation. Police will also look for situations where someone is in possession of a firearm coupled with drinking alcohol or using controlled substances. While usually a misdemeanor, prohibited use of a weapon can be a felony with prior firearm convictions on your record. If you’ve been accused of prohibited use of weapons in northern Colorado, look no further than Sawyer Legal Group for strategic representation.
Larimer County Prohibited Use of Weapons Law
Larimer County’s prohibited use of weapons law prohibits certain behavior and circumstances involving specific weapons. CRS 18-12-106 defines this firearm crime throughout Fort Collins, Loveland, and Greeley. Law enforcement will look to charge if they believe you:
- knowingly and unlawfully aimed a firearm at someone,
- discharged a gun or shot a bow and arrow recklessly or with criminal negligence,
- set a trap, loaded gun, or explosive device and left without a competent person immediately present,
- possessed a firearm while under the influence of alcohol or drugs,
- or knowingly aimed, swung, or threw a throwing star or nunchaku at someone
It is important to note that ownership of a gun while drunk or high isn’t unlawful. Possession of a gun while under the influence requires actual or physical control of the firearm itself.
How Serious is Prohibited Use of Weapons in Fort Collins?
Each prohibited weapon use case in Larimer County is unique. Consequences won’t always look the same. When charged as a class 2 misdemeanor, a defendant may be sentenced to:
- 3 – 12 months in county jail,
- fines of $250 – $1K
However, a defendant’s prior criminal history dating back 5 years is crucial in prohibited use of weapons cases. If the same conviction or one for unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon or possessing a defaced firearm is present, the offense escalates to a class 5 felony. This can mean up to 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections, a period of parole, and fines of $1K – $100K.
Larimer County Firearm Crime Lawyer
When it comes to firearm crimes throughout Colorado, Sawyer Legal Group has decades of combined experience successfully navigating these charges and fighting for the best possible outcome. Just because you’ve been charged does not mean you’re guilty. Perhaps you didn’t have control of the weapon while drunk, the weapon was not aimed at anyone knowingly, or you had the right to fire at the specific location. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. Our skilled defense attorneys will carefully look through your case, answer your questions, and recommend next steps. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make experienced representation a reality for those accused in northern Colorado.
Don’t talk to police about prohibited use of weapons – talk to us. 303-731-0719
Photo by Paul Einerhand