Vehicular assault in Lakewood, Arvada, and Golden is a serious traffic offense that can occur in the blink of an eye. When someone is seriously injured in a collision or everyday accident, law enforcement will look to hold the other driver accountable in some way. If they feel your driving was either reckless or they believe you were under the influence of alcohol or drugs, felony charges can result. Additionally, the severity of the injury itself may not become evident until well after the collision, meaning charges may come later than expected. Contact our Jefferson County traffic attorneys today if you’re being accused of vehicular assault.
Jefferson County Vehicular Assault Law
Jeffco’s vehicular assault law prohibits specific behaviors behind the wheel that cause another’s injury. CRS 18-3-205 addresses the elements of this crime throughout Jefferson, Denver, and Adams County. Police will pursue this charge if they believe you:
- operated or drove a motor vehicle,
- in a reckless manner or while under the influence of alcohol or one or more drugs,
- AND this conduct is the proximate cause of someone’s serious bodily injury
Voluntarily driving home after a night out at bars or drinking at a party is a risky choice, especially if a collision occurs. However, taking prescription marijuana, allergy meds, or even cold medicine can also lead to being under the influence. While reckless vehicular assault and DUI vehicular assault involve different behaviors, the penalties for a conviction can impact defendants for a long time.
How Bad is Vehicular Assault in Jefferson County?
Vehicular assault is a felony throughout the state of Colorado. Several factors can come into play when it comes to a conviction and sentencing. When reckless driving causes another’s serious injury, a class 5 felony applies. This can lead to:
- up to 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
- fines of $1K – $100K,
- 2 years of parole
In cases where DUI is behind the other person’s serious injury, a class 4 felony charge often results. Defendants in these cases face:
- a prison sentence of 2 – 6 years,
- fines of $2K – $500K
- 3 years of parole
Lakewood Vehicular Assault Defense
Those facing allegations of vehicular assault in Lakewood or elsewhere in Jefferson County should proceed carefully. Exercising your right to remain silent and consulting a skilled attorney early on can go a long way in protecting your future. Perhaps the collision wasn’t your fault, you weren’t driving recklessly, or the injury isn’t as serious as the alleged victim is claiming. Nonetheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. Our traffic lawyers will carefully analyze your case, answer your questions, and recommend next steps in your defense. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those accused of vehicular assault in Jefferson, Denver, Adams, Arapahoe, and Douglas County.
Don’t talk to law enforcement about vehicular assault – talk to us. 303-731-0719
Photo by Matthis Volquardsen