Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Colorado Springs Sexual Assault Attorney | El Paso County Sex Crimes

| Jun 16, 2021 | Sexual Assault |

Allegations of non-consensual or forced sex in El Paso County, Colorado can lead to sexual assault charges. Defendants in these situations need to exercise extreme caution, practice their right to remain silent, and seek an experienced sexual assault attorney. Unwanted penetration or intrusion carries severe penalties throughout the state of Colorado and prosecutors are often incentivized to achieve a conviction, even in cases where the accusations are exaggerated or simply false. Whether things went further than expected after a party, a date has changed their mind after the fact, or statements are being made to smear your reputation, skilled representation is essential when it comes to sexual assault in Colorado Springs.

Colorado Springs Sexual Assault Law

Colorado Springs’ sexual assault laws prohibit sex that lacks consent. CRS 18-3-402 defines acts of sexual assault throughout El Paso, Pueblo, and Teller County. Law enforcement will pursue charges if they believe you:

  • knowingly committed an act of sexual penetration or intrusion,
    • against a victim’s will,
    • or when they were high, intoxicated, mentally debilitated, or physically helpless

For sexual assault to apply, the behavior must have included vaginal, oral, or anal sex or penetration with fingers or a foreign object. Unwanted touching of breasts or the genital area isn’t sexual assault in Colorado. Instead, these acts of groping or fondling are charged as unlawful sexual contact.

How Serious is Sexual Assault in El Paso County?

A charge of sexual assault or rape in Colorado Springs carries a prison sentence of 2 years to life, in addition to lifetime sex offender registration. Indeterminate sentencing also plays a significant role in the length of penalties for a conviction. In situations where force wasn’t used and the victim wasn’t injured (a class 4 felony), defendants face 2 – 8 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections, fines of $2K – $500K, and strict supervision after release from incarceration.

When threats, force, or drugging occur in a sexual assault case, the charge elevates to a class 3 felony. This can as much as double the prison sentence and substantially increase the fine amount. Furthermore, if a deadly weapon is involved or the victim is seriously injured, penalties escalate even further.

Colorado Springs Sex Crime Lawyer

Securing a strategic Colorado Springs sex crime lawyer early on is vital in cases of sexual assault. There are intricacies in these situations unlike any other criminal charge and defendants need an attorney who has been there before and has the case results to prove it. Perhaps penetration or intrusion didn’t occur, there was consent, or the alleged victim is later regretting what took place. That said, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. We will carefully and thoroughly analyze your case, as well as suggest next steps in your defense. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for defendants being accused of sexual assault throughout Colorado Springs, Monument, Woodland Park, Fountain, Security-Widefield, and Pueblo.

Talk to us about sexual assault allegations – not the police. 303-731-0719

Message Our Sex Crime Attorneys

Photo by Anete Lusina