Misdemeanor child abuse charges in Aurora, Colorado can stem from many different situations. Whether law enforcement believes you put a young person (under the age of 16) in harm’s way, didn’t provide proper medical care, or drove under the influence with a kid in the car, impactful consequences loom for defendants throughout Arapahoe County. Having your kids around or another’s in risky situations can be problematic, even if you had no intention of injuring someone. If you or someone you know is facing allegations of abusing a child in Aurora, Centennial, or Englewood, contact an experience child abuse lawyer as soon as you can.
What Leads to Colorado Child Abuse Charges?
Colorado’s child abuse law prohibits specific acts or behaviors against juveniles 15 or younger. CRS 18-6-401 defines the elements of this offense. Charges can follow in Arapahoe, Douglas, or Jefferson County if law enforcement believes you:
- caused an injury to the child’s life or their health (physical or emotional abuse),
- permitted a child to be unreasonably placed in a situation that poses a threat of injury,
- engaged in continuous acts that resulted in malnourishment, lack of medical care, cruel punishment, mistreatment, or an accumulation of injuries,
- DUI or DWAI with a child in the vehicle,
- performed or allowed female circumcision or genital mutilation,
- or allowed a child to be near the manufacturing of controlled substances
Will I Go to Jail for Misdemeanor Child Abuse in Arapahoe County?
Each child abuse case is unique. The penalties for a conviction won’t always be the same. As an extraordinary risk crime, child abuse comes with heightened penalties. When acting with criminal negligence and no serious bodily injury to the child occurs, consequences can include:
- up to 12 months in county jail,
- fines of $50 – $750
However, if you acted knowingly or recklessly, ramifications increase to:
- a county jail sentence of 3 – 18 months,
- fines of $250 – $1,000
A prior conviction for abusing a child, causing serious bodily injury, or specific acts taken as a position of trust (parent, legal guardian, teacher, counselor, doctor, baby sitter, etc) increase child abuse to a felony offense, possibly leading to a prison sentence and much larger fine amounts.
Aurora’s Top Child Abuse Defense Attorneys
Just because you’ve been charged with child abuse doesn’t mean you’re guilty. However, with incarceration, constant monitoring, and potential loss of the ability to see your child looming, skilled representation is a must. Perhaps you lost your temper and need help, a bystander misunderstood the situation, or an ex is making accusations as revenge. Contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation with a strategic child abuse lawyer. We will carefully evaluate your unique circumstances, as well as suggest next steps in your defense. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for defendants in and around Aurora, Denver, Lakewood, Centennial, Englewood, and Littleton.
Talk to us about child abuse allegations – not the police. 303-731-0719
Photo by Ketut Subiyanto