Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Aurora’s 3rd Degree Assault Lawyer | Inflicting Bodily Injury

| Mar 22, 2021 | Assault |

Allegations of knowingly or recklessly causing another’s bodily injury can lead to 3rd degree assault charges in Aurora, Centennial, or Englewood. Throwing an object at someone or slapping or punching a person are common behaviors that result in some type of bodily injury. When they do and law enforcement is contacted, defendants must proceed carefully. Speaking with a highly-rated assault lawyer early on has many benefits and often produces a better outcome. If you or someone you know is being accused of inflicting bodily injury in Arapahoe, Denver, or Adams County, contacting our law office is the first step in your defense.

Aurora Third-Degree Assault Law

Arapahoe County’s third-degree assault law prohibits inflicting bodily injury on another person. CRS 18-3-204 is the criminal code that addresses the specific elements of this offense throughout Colorado. Charges can follow if police believe you:

  • knowingly or recklessly caused someone’s bodily injury,
  • or with criminal negligence caused bodily injury using a deadly weapon

The term bodily injury can even apply to something as simple as physical pain. While this specific degree of assault doesn’t involve serious injuries, another person’s pain, cuts, scratches, or bruises may be enough to manufacture charges. Furthermore, if you do or did have an intimate relationship with the alleged victim, domestic violence enhancements further complicate the situation.

How Serious is Assault in the Third-Degree in Arapahoe County?

Each assault case in Colorado is unique. Penalties won’t always look the same. As an extraordinary risk class 1 misdemeanor, a 3rd degree assault conviction can result in:

  • a county jail sentence of 6 – 24 months,
  • fines of $500 – $5,000

In situations involving domestic violence, not only is there a mandatory arrest but also the restrictions of a protection order. These additional ramifications make navigating an assault allegation that much harder, stressing the need for skilled, trustworthy representation.

Arapahoe County Assault Attorney

Allegations of assault in Aurora, Centennial, and Littleton are high-stakes situations. A defendant’s future is on the line and the need for a strategic defense attorney is priority number one. We have decades of combined experience fighting assault charges throughout Colorado’s many courtrooms and are prepared for your unique case. Perhaps you or a loved one was acting in self-defense, the injuries were an accident, or there are other holes in the evidence. Contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation. An experienced assault attorney will carefully assess your situation and suggest next steps in your defense.

We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing charges in and around Aurora, Englewood, Greenwood Village, Littleton, and Centennial.

Don’t talk to police about assault charges – talk to us. 303-731-0719

Message Our Assault Lawyers Now

Photo by C Technical