3rd degree arson in Colorado Springs and throughout El Paso County usually stems from accusations of using fire or explosives to cause damage, alongside an intent to defraud. Trying to get money from the insurance company is a common target when it comes to third-degree arson. In this particular degree of arson, the property itself doesn’t have to be destroyed entirely for charges to follow. Damage beyond scorch marks or discolored surfaces apply to arson in the third-degree in Colorado. If you or someone you know is facing allegations of this nature, contact a 3rd degree arson attorney as soon as possible.
El Paso County Third-Degree Arson Law
Colorado’s third-degree arson law prohibits purposefully damaging property using fire / explosives to defraud another. CRS 18-4-104 defines the specific elements of 3rd degree arson that law enforcement looks for. Charges can result in Colorado Springs, Fountain, or Monument if police believe you:
- by means of fire or explosives,
- intentionally damaged any property,
- with intent to defraud
The intent to defraud is specific to 3rd degree arson. These attempts to falsely obtain property or money are unlawful and when combined with the use of fire or explosives, especially impactful consequences exist.
How Bad is 3rd Degree Arson in Colorado?
Each arson case in CO is different. Penalties won’t often be the same. As a class 4 felony, a third-degree arson conviction can lead to:
- a prison sentence of 2 – 6 years,
- a minimum fine of $2K,
Beyond these penalties, a criminal record involving arson and this level of fraud can plague defendants moving forward. Employment opportunities are significantly impacted by this conviction and a level of distrust often follows for quite a while. Rental applications are another hurdle that many with a felony on their record experience as well.
Colorado Springs 3rd Degree Arson Attorney
Any accusation of arson requires immediate, strategic action on the part of the defendant. Contacting our skilled criminal lawyers is the best place to start, especially before talking with law enforcement. Perhaps the fire or explosion was an accident and not intentional or someone else is responsible for starting the blaze. Nonetheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. One of our determined defense attorneys will carefully evaluate your unique situation, as well as recommend next steps in your defense. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing arson allegations throughout El Paso, Douglas, Denver, Jefferson, and Arapahoe County.
Don’t talk to police about arson charges – talk to us. 303-731-0719
Photo by Anders Nord