Marijuana possession in Aurora, Colorado can lead to criminal charges if the amount exceeds the legal quantity. For personal use, this figure is 1 ounce or 0.75 lbs. Ranging from a petty offense to a class 1 drug misdemeanor, unlawful possession of marijuana could result in county jail time and fines. If caught with more marijuana than the legal limit, law enforcement is known to investigate further to see if illegal sale, transfer, or distribution has occurred. If you or someone you know is a facing a marijuana charge in Aurora, Littleton, or Centennial, contact an experienced marijuana possession lawyer right away.
Aurora Marijuana Possession Laws
Arapahoe County’s marijuana possession laws make it unlawful to possess more weed than the legal quantity. The general rule of thumb for marijuana possession throughout Colorado is an ounce or less for personal use. Once a person possesses more than an ounce, criminal charges can apply. Below is a breakdown of marijuana possession offenses based on quantity:
- > 1 ounce = petty drug offense,
- > 2 ounces or up to 3 ounces of marijuana concentrate = class 2 drug misdemeanor,
- > 6 ounces or > 3 ounces of marijuana concentrate = class 1 drug misdemeanor
Still classified as a Schedule I controlled substance, marijuana possession, sale, and cultivation is strictly regulated throughout Arapahoe, Denver, and Adams County.
How Bad is Unlawful Possession of Marijuana in Aurora?
Each marijuana possession case is different. Ramifications of a conviction won’t always looks the same. When the amount exceeds one ounce, penalties include up to $100 in fines. However, possession of over 2 ounces of marijuana for personal use can result in 3 – 12 months in county jail and fines of up to $1,000. Furthermore, when someone is in possession of more than 6 ounces of marijuana, penalties can include as much as 18 months in county jail and fines of $500 – $5,000. Punishments for illegal sale or transfer of marijuana are often higher and can be a felony offense if a minor is involved.
Aurora Marijuana Attorney
Regulations and restrictions surrounding marijuana possession, sale, and transfer require close attention. If you’re being accused of a crime involving marijuana, the time to contact an attorney is now. Our criminal lawyers have decades of combined experience successfully navigating drug charges in Arapahoe, Denver, and Adams County and our reviews speak for themselves. Perhaps you had a lawful amount at the time of arrest, your prescription verifies the specific amount, or there was an illegal search and seizure. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make strategic representation a reality, even in times of uncertainty.
Don’t talk to police about marijuana possession – talk to us. 303-731-0719
Photo by Cambridge Jenkins IV