Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Date Rape Lawyer in Denver | Sexual Assault Defense

| Oct 14, 2020 | Sexual Assault |

Denver Date Rape Lawyer

Date rape in Denver is a crime that involves sexual intrusion or penetration without consent. When drugs or alcohol are involved, the situation can grow even more in severity. These charges apply when the physical behavior goes beyond touching or groping to oral sex or intercourse. A domestic violence enhancement can also come alongside date rape charges if the two people had been seeing one another beyond a first date. Allegations of date rape can occur within a wide time frame, from the next day to months or even years afterwards. Connect with an experienced sexual assault lawyer right away if date rape accusations are looming.

Denver Date Rape Law

Denver County’s sexual assault laws prohibit acts of date rape. CRS 18-3-402 defines the specific elements of sexual assault throughout Colorado. You commit date rape in Denver, Cherry Creek, or Lodo if you:

  • perform any sexual intrusion or penetration on someone without their consent,
    • by submission of the person,
    • knowing they’re incapable of consenting,
    • or by giving them drugs or alcohol to facilitate the sex assault

Oral, anal, and vaginal sex lacking consent, as well as intrusion with a foreign object or fingers are considered acts of sexual assault. Additionally, any current or past dating relationships are defined as an intimate relationship in Colorado. Should the above items apply to an encounter with a girlfriend / boyfriend or an ex, domestic violence enhancements can apply to the sexual assault charge.

What are the Consequences of Date Rape in Colorado?

Each sexual assault case is different. Penalties are not the same in every situation. Date rape is at minimum a class 4 felony throughout the Denver area. A conviction can lead to:

  • up to 8 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
  • a maximum fine of $500K,
  • costly evaluation / treatment,
  • sex offender registration

However, penalties increase in the following situations:

  • drugs or alcohol used to get the victim to submit (class 3 felony),
  • sexual assault causing serious bodily injury (class 2 felony),
  • use of a deadly weapon (class 2 felony)

In these cases, defendants can face decades or longer in prison and even higher fine amounts.

Defense Attorney for Rape Charges in Denver

Accusations of date rape or sexual assault should be handled carefully. Securing the best sexual assault lawyer early on is vital. These cases often lack witnesses and pit one person’s version of the events against another’s. We have decades of combined experience successfully representing clients charged with sexual assault and specialize in sex offenses. Perhaps no sex occurred, consent was given, or the alleged victim is regretting their participation after the fact. That said, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for individuals facing sexual assault allegations throughout Colorado.

Don’t talk to the police about date rape – talk to us. O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC 303-731-0719.

Photo by Matthieu Huang