Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Denver Harassment Lawyer | Man Facing Charges After Mask Request

by | Sep 9, 2020 | Harassment |

Harassment charges come in many forms throughout Colorado. Intending to annoy, alarm, or torment someone followed by specific actions can lead to police involvement. Earlier this week, a man allegedly pushed a bartender to the ground after being asked to wear a mask at a local restaurant. Reports claim the customer became upset with the request, started using offensive language, and pushed the employee over. He now faces charges of harassment and trespassing. Allegations of criminal harassment in Denver require consulting a skilled criminal defense attorney right away.

Denver County Harassment Law

Denver’s criminal harassment law prohibits many different behaviors meant to annoy, alarm, or harass someone. CRS 18-9-111 defines the specific elements of harassment throughout Colorado. You commit this offense in Denver, Cherry Creek, or Montbello if you:

  • intending to harass, annoy, or alarm another person,
  • strike, shove, kick, or resort to other physical contact,
  • make obscene gestures in public,
  • follow someone,
  • repeatedly place calls,
  • continuously contact someone electronically,
  • taunt another person trying to provoke a fight,
  • make threats or obscene comments on the phone or using the internet

It is important to note that your words or your actions can lead to harassment charges. Often these situations involve both. Losing your temper, especially in public, can prove to be costly.

Is Harassment a Misdemeanor in Denver?

Many harassment cases are a class 3 misdemeanor in Denver and throughout Colorado. Defendants in these situations face the following for conviction:

  • up to 180 days in county jail,
  • fines of $50 – $750

However, when harassment involves discrimination due to someone’s race, color, religion, sexual orientation, or disability, it elevates to a class 1 misdemeanor. Over a year in county jail and much higher fines are possible in these cases.

Denver’s Best Harassment Lawyers

When it comes to allegations of criminal harassment in Denver, you need an experienced defense attorney you can trust. We have decades of combined experience successfully defending clients throughout Colorado and our results speak for themselves. Perhaps you didn’t intend to annoy or bother anyone or you didn’t touch or threaten another person. That said, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. One of our harassment attorneys will carefully analyze your unique case, as well as suggest next steps in your defense. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans making strategic representation a reality in uncertain times.

If you or someone you know is facing a harassment charge in the Denver area, be smart. Contact the highly skilled criminal lawyers at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-731-0719. Don’t talk to the police – talk to us.