Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Prohibited Use of Weapons in Arapahoe County | CRS 18-12-106

| Aug 4, 2020 | Prohibited Use of Weapons |

Prohibited use of weapons is a criminal charge in Aurora, Centennial, and Englewood that involves aiming a firearm at someone, certain acts of shooting a gun, or throwing weapons at another. This charge sometimes follows when someone is drunk with a gun or under the influence of drugs while possessing a firearm. This offense can range from a class 2 misdemeanor to a class 5 felony depending on a defendant’s background. Reaching out to an experienced criminal lawyer is the first step in building a strong defense to these impactful charges.

Aurora Prohibited Use of Weapons Law

Arapahoe County’s prohibited use of weapons law prohibits specific behaviors with firearms, bow and arrows, traps, explosives, throwing stars, and nunchakus. CRS 18-12-106 defines the violation throughout the state of Colorado. You commit prohibited use of weapons in Aurora, Littleton, or Centennial if you:

  • knowingly and unlawfully aim a gun at someone,
  • fire a gun or shoot a bow and arrow recklessly with criminal negligence,
  • knowingly set a loaded firearm, trap, or explosive device and leave it unattended by someone competent,
  • possess a firearm while under the influence of alcohol or drugs,
  • or knowingly aim, swing, or throw a throwing star or nunchaku at someone

Will I Go to Jail for Prohibited Weapon Use in Colorado?

Prohibited weapon use is at minimum a class 2 misdemeanor in Arapahoe County. Defendants in these situations face:

  • up to 12 months in county jail,
  • fines of $250 – $1,000

However, there are certain circumstances that increase a prohibited use of weapons charge to a class 5 felony. Those include:

  • a prior conviction of possessing a defaced firearm, unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon, or prohibited use of a weapon,
  • within the last 5 years

Arapahoe County Firearms Attorney

Securing representation early on is vital when facing a charge of prohibited use of weapons in Colorado. We have decades of combined experience representing clients facing firearms charges and our results truly speak for themselves. Perhaps you weren’t aware the gun was loaded or you had no physical control of the weapon itself. That said, contact our law office for a free consultation. One of our top criminal defense attorneys will carefully look over your case and recommend next steps. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make strategic defense a reality in these unprecedented times.

If you or someone you know has been charged with prohibited use of weapons in Colorado, be smart. Contact the highly skilled defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-731-0719. Don’t talk to the police – talk to us.