Fourth-degree arson charges in Arapahoe County, Colorado involve fires that put people or their property in danger. Burning something in your backyard that spreads to a neighbor’s property could result in a 4th degree arson charge. This offense ranges from a class 3 misdemeanor all the way up to a class 4 felony, depending on who and what was at risk and the property value. Law enforcement in Colorado investigates potential arson cases thoroughly, which means skilled representation for anyone facing arson accusations is crucial. Contact our office to discuss your case with an experienced arson lawyer if police are asking questions.
Arapahoe County 4th Degree Arson Law
Arapahoe County’s fourth-degree arson law prohibits endangering someone or property with a fire. CRS 18-4-105 provides the specific violations of this degree of arson throughout Colorado. You commit arson in the fourth degree in Aurora, Centennial, or Englewood if you:
- knowingly or recklessly start or maintain a fire,
- or cause an explosion,
- that places someone or their property in danger
It is important to note that 4th degree arson doesn’t have to involve actual property damage or injury. Simply putting others or a building / occupied structure at risk of serious harm is enough to be charged. Even recklessly starting a fire that firefighters respond to can be considered endangering someone or property.
What’s the Sentence for Fourth-Degree Arson in Colorado?
Each arson case is different. At minimum, 4th degree arson is a class 3 misdemeanor. This applies in cases where only property was at risk and its value was under $100. Defendants in these cases face up to 6 months in county jail and a maximum fine of $750 for conviction. If the property value reaches or exceeds $100, a class 2 misdemeanor applies. This can double the jail sentence and add to the fines.
In cases where the fire created a risk to people, the charge skyrockets to a class 4 felony. A conviction in these scenarios can lead to up to 6 years in DOC and potential six-figure fines.
Aurora Arson Lawyer
Just because you’ve been charged with arson doesn’t mean you’re guilty. Hiring a strategic defense attorney early on has many benefits and often results in a better outcome for defendants. Perhaps the fire wasn’t endangering anyone or it was an accident. That said, contact our office today for a free initial consultation. We will carefully analyze your unique case and suggest next steps in your defense. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing arson allegations throughout Colorado.