Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

First-Degree Burglary in Aurora | CRS 18-4-202

| Jul 29, 2020 | Burglary |

first-degree-burglary-omalley-and-sawyer-llc.jpg

First-degree burglary in Aurora, Colorado is a serious offense that often involves unlawfully entering another’s property intending to commit a crime while armed. However, entering or remaining without permission and even threatening to use a deadly weapon can lead to felony charges. Additionally, committing an assault alongside unlawful entry is considered 1st degree burglary throughout Colorado. This is the most severe degree of burglary due to the risk of danger. Anyone facing a first-degree burglary allegation should quickly seek skilled representation from an experienced burglary attorney.

Arapahoe County 1st Degree Burglary Law

Arapahoe County’s first-degree burglary law prohibits certain violent, unlawful entry in someone’s property. CRS 18-4-202 addresses the specific details of burglary in the first-degree throughout Colorado. You commit this crime in Aurora, Centennial, or Englewood if you knowingly break an entrance into, enter unlawfully, or remain unlawfully in a building or occupied structure intending to commit a crime AND you:

  • assault or menace someone,
  • possess and threaten use of a deadly weapon,
  • use a deadly weapon,
  • or are armed with explosives

In many cases simply carrying a firearm during a burglary amplifies the situation to 1st degree burglary, even if it isn’t used.

How Long is the Prison Sentence for First-Degree Burglary in Colorado?

Burglary in the first-degree is at minimum a class 3 felony throughout Colorado. A conviction can result in:

  • up to 12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
  • fines of $3k – $750k,
  • 5 years of parole

However, sometimes these cases involve the intent to obtain controlled substances. This elevates the situation to a class 2 felony, potentially leading to 8 – 24 years in prison and substantially higher fines.

Arapahoe County Burglary Lawyer

Finding the best burglary lawyer is vital to those facing a first-degree burglary charge in Colorado. This complex offense comes with devastating consequences and requires the skill of a seasoned defense attorney. We have decades of combined experience achieving favorable outcomes for clients facing serious felony charges throughout Colorado. Perhaps you were lawfully on the property, didn’t threaten use of a deadly weapon, or there was police misconduct. That said, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. We offer same-day jail visits, competitive fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing criminal allegations in Arapahoe County and throughout the front range.

If you or someone you know is facing a burglary charge in Colorado, be smart. Contact the determined defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo by Burak K